We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Friendly Staf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   195 Tay St., Invercargill 9810, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location & Friendly Staf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I recently attended a family wedding in Invercargill and chose to stay at Best Western Townsman Motor Lodge. What a great location! Easy walking distance to everywhere, and a supermarket right across the road. The staff are so helpful and friendly - Tony [Manager], Dorothy & Marissa get special mention. Nothing was too much to ask of them, and they always assisted with a smile and the correct information/answer. I will stay again on my next visit [whenever that may be!] My studio room was upstairs, but easily accessible and the staff took luggage up and down for me. The room was wonderfully large - just perfect for a 5 day stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was good to have you stay for a longer time and great that you telephoned us and booked directly with us. Also thank you for your comments about our staff which is really pleasant for us to read. We look forward to seeing you again during a future visit to Invercargill. Best wishes Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I regularly stay here for work. The staff are unfailingly cheerful, friendly and helpful and the motel is a short walk from the town centre where there are plenty of great restaurants. The rooms are large, warm and quiet and always very clean. The staff have always been very helpful when it comes to early check ins and late check outs.

Room Tip: Rooms set furthest from the road get most natural light in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your continued support for our business is much appreciated, thanks for the comments about our staff which is encouraging for us all here we are looking forward to seeing you again soon during your next trip to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durahm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in February and we were very pleased with our stay. We were met in reception by Tony who could not have been more helpful if he tried! He provided us with maps and guides for the town and advised us on what to do and where to go. Our room was huge! Nicely appointed with a kitchen, dining table and fresh clean bathroom. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it! All in all a very pleasant stay in a lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for your review. It is encouraging for us to get positive feed back and we really appreciate you taking the time to post your comment. We are delighted that you had a relaxing experience here and enjoyed our comfortable spacious rooms. Thanks for the generous comments about our staff and management which is also much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We arrived tired and hungry at 8 pm, and with no reservation. The BW had two rooms left. Tony, the manager, could not have been more accommodating, and the rooms were immaculate and spacious. There is no dining room, but if you wish, breakfast is brought to your room at an appointed time. There are adequate choices on a checklist to be submitted the night before. We came to Invercargill in order to visit E. Hayes Hardware, home of "The World's Fastest Indian" memorabilia. We decided to explore the area a bit more, so the next afternoon we were back at the BW to book a room for another night, having checked out that morning. Our second room was even better than the first, as the motel is updating their bathrooms, and our room was one of these.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Southland and it was great that you decided to return here for another nights stay. Thank you for staying with us and placing feedback. We do appreciate our guests feedback and the time people take to place their comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I often stay at at the Townsman Lodge and have always found it to be a great place to stay. Tony & Dorothy are extremely helpful and always make you feel very welcome. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and are always clean and tidy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
It was great having you back to stay with us again recently. We always enjoy having guests return and appreciate you taking the time to place feedback on your visit. Thanks for your positive comments about our units and staff, we are looking forward to seeing you again hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is the fourth time I've stayed at the Townsman lodge , and yet again I've found it very nice, with good comfortable and well appointed room. My husband was in Invercargill for work and after a long day it's was pleasure to stay the night in.The staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Thanks to Tony and Dorothy..we love to stay here again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsmanmotorlodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for your positive remarks on our complex and staff here which are encouraging for us, we are looking forward to having you both staying here during your next visit to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have stayed at this Motor Lodge for many years on Business trips and since Tony and his staff took over the motel some years ago their attention to detail is faultless.
The rooms are immaculately presented ,exceptionally clean and tidy and the staff are most welcoming and helpful.
Tony has taken this property to a whole new level.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsmanmotorlodge, Owner at BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such generous comments, it is a pleasure to have you staying here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge

Address: 195 Tay St., Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 modern, superior, spacious, motel apartment-style units, situated in a prime central location opposite a park and supermarket. Being only a short walk into the city centre including restaurants, shopping complexes, Workingmen's Club, Southern Institute of Technology (SIT), Splash Palace Aquatic Centre, Rugby Park Stadium, parks and gardens. Handy to airport, hospital, i-SITE, museum, Stadium Southland, velodrome and golf courses. Comprising of studio, 1 and 2-bedroom units, including a double spa bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.