We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   195 Tay St., Invercargill 9810, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had a very warm welcome from all the staff.
The rooms are very clean, spacious and well equipped. The motel has a very good location near a supermarket and close to the city center.
The owner, Tony gave us many and usefull informations about our trip to Stewart Island. He made all the bookings, phone calls.... for us. A great help.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I had such a good experience staying here while my boyfriend played in the world cup! The price was cheap and to be honest it was fine for me, I had my own little studio apt I felt like. It was always clean, always had towels, wifi was super cheap and the workers were absolutely lovely! They also had a washer and dryer I could use for like 2 bucks. Anyway I would stay here over the other places as I just liked the lighting of room and it was just a cozy spot. :) Tony and Dorothy were so great as well and very helpful!

Room Tip: I stayed on bottom floor! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

we were staying at this hotel, when word reached us about the earthquake in christchurch, we had to then immediately make alternate plans to get back to auckland, and on to sydney,
tony, made sure we had use of the internet service and phone lines,

the rooms were great, quiet and very clean. close to a countdown grocery, so you could have a meal in.

hats of to tony!! thank you again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baradine, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed here one night, really big rooms with separate kitchen, separate toilet and bathroom, really clean, great location, cheap internet , really nice hosts.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsmanmotorlodge, Owner at BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Thank you for your compliments, which are much appreciated, we hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to Invercargill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge

Address: 195 Tay St., Invercargill 9810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#6 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 modern, superior, spacious, motel apartment-style units, situated in a prime central location opposite a park and supermarket. Being only a short walk into the city centre including restaurants, shopping complexes, Workingmen's Club, Southern Institute of Technology (SIT), Splash Palace Aquatic Centre, Rugby Park Stadium, parks and gardens. Handy to airport, hospital, i-SITE, museum, Stadium Southland, velodrome and golf courses. Comprising of studio, 1 and 2-bedroom units, including a double spa bath suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge Invercargill, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Townsman Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.