We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd

Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd
141-143 Dunns Road | Otatara, Invercargill 9879, New Zealand
03 213 0501
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 63 Restaurants in Invercargill
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Barbecue, Australian, Eclectic, Pacific Rim
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Ziff's Cafe & Bar

This was my 3rd visit to this establishment and I was impressed with the quick and friendly service. I opted for the battered, blue cod which was very fresh and tasty. Accompanying the fish were some chips, and a salad, which rather than serve as pure decoration was lovely, light and very yummy. All in all this was very good dining experience. If you are looking for good, basic food, good coffee and all at a reasonable price, then by all means visit Ziff's. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went here and enjoyed a beautiful meal, lovely food and really tasty. I loved the dessert of lemon meringue cheesecake, a definate must.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice lunch and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had lovely salmon risotto dish - sat beside fire, nice abience, great place to catch up with friends

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great spot away from the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a great restaurant for couples who want to relax and take a break from the kids. It's got lovely surroundings and the art is really interesting - the food is yummy and I think if you can go for the soup - it's always great. Oh and leave room for dessert - it's usually to die for!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A family get-together with young children included. The restaurant has a nice feel and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good, though not spectacular. Some unusual presentations, including "battered" fish, being more of a fish omelette. We enjoyed our mediterranean vege stack entree, though wondered why there were no olives!!!?? My salmon risotto was tasty, but the rice was a little stodgy. We normally don't order off the childrens' menu for the kids as they don't like fish and chips, nuggets (the usual kid's menu fare) etc. However, there was sausages and mash, so our daughter had this. The sausages were terrible! Fatty, bready and all attempted to be masked by lots of herbs. And the rest of the plate was just a huge mass of mash. A definite thumbs down from her. Otherwise a pleasant night out with our relatives.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziff's Cafe Bar Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.