We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Laid Back Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
38 Dee Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
+6432145333
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Invercargill
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: American, International, New Zealand, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Southern most Speight's Ale House in New Zealand. Offering only the freshest local produce along with the best tap beer selection in Invercargill.Come and experience Southlands friendly hospitality with food and wine to match everyones tastes.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Really Laid Back Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I had a nice spot looking out at a not very busy street in January. Cricket was on the tv behind me; a few diners about. A bit early, but things never got really noisy. There was a large party upstairs but the place could accommodate them all. Had a Speights to go with a very hearty meal - potatoes, pork roast with cracklin (too hard to eat yet there), vegetable medley. No pressure to finish up and it did take me a while to wade through. Fully sated and plenty of time needed to find someone to give me a bill at the end of it all. In the States, typically, a served would have asked a dozen times how everything was and would have given me a bill before the meal was half finished. Here the service was unobtrusive (understatement); the food adequate; overall good value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Standard Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We took pot luck with a dinner booking on a Monday night and were lucky enough to be found a seat upstairs. We had a long wait for service, though, and that meant no offer of a drink even before our order was taken. The meals were ok but not to the standard of other Speights pubs we have dined at we thought. The food is quite pricey for what you get.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great service and vibes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Awesome food in a very good location and cool music, very friendly stuff! We enjoyed it very much and can absolutely recommend this restaurant.
Kids menu - great spaghetti
Entree - southern mussels - wow.
Main - blue cod burger - wow
Just a great night ....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still got it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Droped in for a quick bit to eat when got home from holiday. .most places where closed..it was busy and service was quick and friendly. I had the surf n turf, cooked perfect with great flavors. Wife really enjoyed the duck roll. Nice to see a kids menu not all deep fried too... Thank you will be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottenhoefen im Schwarzwald, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Awesome food combined with top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The rating of this spot was already quite good and now we can confirm the same!!! Awesome food in a very nice location with good music, very friendly stuff! We enjoyed it very much and can absolutely recommend this restaurant. If you like to eat good and if you like good food - you should go to speights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speights Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.