We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and great service and vibes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
38 Dee Street, Invercargill, New Zealand
+6432145333
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 62 Restaurants in Invercargill
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: American, International, New Zealand, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Southern most Speight's Ale House in New Zealand. Offering only the freshest local produce along with the best tap beer selection in Invercargill.Come and experience Southlands friendly hospitality with food and wine to match everyones tastes.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great service and vibes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Awesome food in a very good location and cool music, very friendly stuff! We enjoyed it very much and can absolutely recommend this restaurant.
Kids menu - great spaghetti
Entree - southern mussels - wow.
Main - blue cod burger - wow
Just a great night ....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still got it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Droped in for a quick bit to eat when got home from holiday. .most places where closed..it was busy and service was quick and friendly. I had the surf n turf, cooked perfect with great flavors. Wife really enjoyed the duck roll. Nice to see a kids menu not all deep fried too... Thank you will be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottenhoefen im Schwarzwald, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Awesome food combined with top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The rating of this spot was already quite good and now we can confirm the same!!! Awesome food in a very nice location with good music, very friendly stuff! We enjoyed it very much and can absolutely recommend this restaurant. If you like to eat good and if you like good food - you should go to speights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Speights restaurant location I've been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I like the Invercargill Speights the best due to it's large menu selection and service. I've been to other Speights chain locations, but they paled in comparison to the Invercargill one. Some of the meals are a bit pricey but the food is well worth it (especially the black cherry chicken). The tap beers are pretty good and the appetiser loaf is amazing. If you like to eat meat and are visiting Invercargill, I highly suggest visiting Speights Ale House.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“the busiest spot in Invercargill - and a fun night out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great menu, great brew, good prices. Dont't try the sampler of eight excellent lagers and ales unless you are within walking distance of the pub! My wife and I shared most of the seafood sampler and it was almost too much for two, but it was a fun experience and a great meal. Service was a little slow, but they were packed on a Wednesday night, and we certainly did not go hungry or want for drink. The wait staff and the other guests made for a lively, friendly atmsphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speights Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.