We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dark, depressing dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Village Motel

Woodlands Village Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Village Motel to your Saves list
Woodlands Village Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   594 Great King Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Wellington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dark, depressing dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Don't bother with this place - especially if you've looked at their website and are expecting your room to look like the one advertised. Talk about misleading advertising - surely it's illegal. We arrived expecting a really nice place and what we got was a complete dive. We couldn't get out of there fast enough.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, ask for the room that is shown in the photos on their website (assuming it exis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
12
2
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

More fool us. We didn't review Tripadvisor before we booked, and now wish we had. And our comments are pretty much mirrored by previous occupants. The images on the internet site are very different to the actual motel itself. It is very tired and run down. Our two storied apartment reeked of upholstery cleaner when we opened the door, and the odour remained for a full day. The curtains are thin, don't meet in the middle and don't block the light. The lighting is dim and it’s hard to see in the rooms as it gets dark, especially the bathroom. On top of that, of major concern is the railing on the stairs to the second level. At the top the railing is about knee height, offering no protection at all if we stumbled. The bannisters are about a foot apart, meaning any of our children, and in deed the adults, could easily fall/climb both through and over them to the first floor level below, such is the gap. Our 10 year old summed it up by saying "Well, at least the sign is OK" because their street signage is about the only thing not in need of a major overhaul!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

While in Te Anau we used their brochure to select a reservation. Upon arrival, we found our room to be in disrepair. The lights didn't work, the rooms were cold and moudly, the walls were peeling off, and there was a mouse-trap by our entrance. The chairs had human hair bunched on the backs. The sheets in one bedroom were stained with something. We left as quickly as possible.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My workmate and I rented an upstairs apartment for a 3 day conference. This is what you get for $145 per night: two bedroom apartment - upstairs room having the best view with a double and single bed, downstairs a much smaller room with two single beds (electric blankets was a nice touch). Kitchen was small (no dishwasher) with only the bare essentials - an oven (don't bother using it, since the kitchen comes with a warning - any lingering smells can incur an additional levy - oh, but you can inquire at the reception area for outdoor barbie and rice cooker). Microwave, toaster, jug, fridge etc. An opening where the sink is allows you to hand food over to where there is a quaint little round table seating four (aka the dining room). And the lounge occupies the other half of the dining room consisting of 3 small lounge chairs, a coffee table and a tv (no Sky, just a simple antenna getting you only the main tv networks). Not exactly spacious, and certainly no incentive there to eat in. Oh, and the bathroom - compact, clean, with shower, basin, etc. As previous reviewers have noted, the daily room service was barely adequate. By our third night we had amassed almost two small bags of rubbish and fresh towels were absent. Luckily, we had managed to get by from having extra towels left on those beds that weren't slept in.
Overall, I'd say the room we rented served its purpose - it was a handy five minute walk to the campus that our conference was stationed at (the only upside to staying at this motel). But I'd expect much better for that amount of money. And I'd rather pay more for better facilities even if it meant walking an extra ten minutes more. And for me the bottom line is I would not have my mum sleep here, nor any of my siblings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! We arrived to find that the images provided online were a total lie. We were three groups travelling together, one got a newly renovated room and the others were in rooms which had obviously recieved no attention since the 70s. The flooring was coming apart, the lights didn't work, the rooms were cold and moudly, the walls of the bathroom were peeling off, there were holes in the walls, and there was a mouse-trap in the wardrobe. They tried to charge us the same price despite the obvious differences in room quality and when asked if there were other renovated rooms available they said there was only one, so we took ourselves elsewhere. The images online are taken of the one decent room and all of the others aren't even up to the standard of a student hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humpty Doo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place should not be still in operation. On arrival were given the key for 2X2 bedroom upstairs apartment, firstly the stairs going up looked rotton and didn`t feel safe.....stepping inside the carpet was thread bare.... smelt mouldy....bathroom disgusting....where do you stop....could not stay....left to speak to reception to complain. They offered us another apartment groundfloor by the road....at least the bathroom was usuable and plently of room....now for the negatives....rotton floorboard under the carpet in the middle of the lounge, dangerous,right in the pathway from the second bedroom to the bathroom....not enough powerpoints to use electric blankets (reception did give us some double plugs)but cord from top bunk hung over side of bottom bunk (but couldn`t use side lamp)....place looks nothing like their photos on their web site. LIKE OTHERS WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I can't believe this place is still up and operating....lino in the bathroom lifting all around the edges....rotten walls in the shower......missing tiles on bathroom bench so allsorts of bits collect in the gaps.......kitchen bench is warped and lifted, obviously the water has got underneath it - BIG disgusting cobwebs hanging from the higher parts of the rooms and like someone said below, management wasn't even concerned when I voiced my disgust and concern. We stayed there 3 nights for a conference at the University (2x 2 bedroom apartments) and only got fresh towels when we asked for them and not once did they come in and change the rubbish bins or check the place out - WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE don't let the look of the outside influence your decision to stay there - it is the only thing the motel has got going for it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Village Motel

Address: 594 Great King Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlands Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodlands Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Village Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.