We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 315 Euro Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 315 Euro Motel to your Saves list
315 Euro Motel
315 - 319 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The gentleman who checked us in was a visitor from (I think) Christchurch who came down to Dunedin to work at the hotel every so often, but he was incredibly knowledgeable about the town and gave us great recommendations. The room felt very new -- clean, beautiful and comfortable. The location is an easy walking distance to the center of town with lots of restaurants within just a few blocks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    33
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
63
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times before but this trip was disappointing. We booked 5 rooms for our family members for the graduation weekend. Most of our family members were happy with their rooms but ours was extremely noisy and as a result we would not return to the Euro and certainly not to Room 108. At 2.30am I was told that the noise that was so bad we had no chance of sleeping was coming from the next door karaoke bar. I was disappointed to be told it was me who should calm down and then no apology was made when we checked out. Not good enough.
The location of these units has been the reason we have returned over the past few years.

Room Tip: BE VERY CAREFUL. Ask for a room away from the karaoke bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
315euro, Owner at 315 Euro Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are very sorry that the Saturday night on your recent stay with us was not satisfactory. We are on holiday at present and we are disappointed that the way our relief manager handled your complaint has led you to write this review. In this business one of the most difficult and stressful things for us to deal with is noise that disturbs our guests. Being inner-city and also a Saturday night on a university graduation weekend made it even worse for you.
We have never had a complaint about the karaoke bar in question in the 13 months that we have been owners. Upon our return to Dunedin we will certainly be making contact with the karaoke bar so that it won't happen again.
On this occasion your experience did not live up to your expectations and once again, we sincerely apologise for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Warm, comfy, great location, friendly hosts . Highly recommend . We stayed here on graduation weekend and found this to be an excellent location, close to restaurants and shops. A little bit of night noise but that was to be expected being so central. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed four nights. The best four nights sleep I have ever had in hotel/motel accommodation. A beautiful comfortable bed, Normally would not spend this amount of money per night, but the central location meant we had to spend nothing on taxis or a rental car. This motel has everything you could want, if you don't need full cooking facilities, and free internet was a real bonus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
315euro, Owner at 315 Euro Motel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at 315 Euro. We do get a lot of positive feedback about the comfort of our beds and our central location. Thank you for your comments too.
In terms of kitchen facilities, our studio suites all have a kitchenette with a microwave, fridge and basic amenities. However, we do have full kitchen facilities in our 1-bedroom suites if guests prefer to prepare their own meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a very comfortable well-run motel which is located near the city centre. The owners responded to all requests in a very helpful and friendly way. Good internet access. Convenient easy parking. Great breakfasts just across the street at the Good Oil. Very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A friend recommended we stay at Euro and we are very pleased she did because it was perfect for our stay. We loved being in the heart of the city and enjoyed being able to find great restaurants at our doorstep. The apartment was immaculate and beautifully presented and very comfortable. We will definately stay again on a return trip.

Room Tip: We booked a large apartment and had all the facilities we needed to invite 3 relatives over to share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

we booked into a TOP 5 Motel in Dunedin to be met by a Unit which was an Access Unit which had a Shower that overflowed into the hallway, which then meant we dragged WET Footprints into the Hallway, and then dragged WET footprints into the Bedroom, and as a result, cold feet into QUEEN SIZE Bed??????????????. We booked a KING Bed.

At 7-30am the next morning, we were interrupted from our belated sleep by a Rubbish Removal Truck removing the day's rubbish truck from the rubbish bay. BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP it sounded out as it reversed towards the skip.

Then after an Hours more slumber, we were disturbed by an Alsco Linen truck reversing, again using the BEEP BEEP BEEP reversing sounds as it maneuvered into place and the dirty linen and trying to negotiate a narrow alleyway back to the Road that runs through the center of town

The noise of the Lift between the Ground Floor and the Imaginary 4th Floor which constantly grind-ed and made a noise in the room from 4-30am through to our 10am Check Out was an extraordinary Mood Breaker.

The Purple Colored Cabinet Covers were VIBRANT, with a Capital V I B R A N and T.

The Purple colour matched with nothing, except the Cadbury's Chocolate Factory brochure, which was the only thing that blended with the Cabinet covers.

They changed us to a Studio Unit after we complained about the Access Unit and this had a Back Window which opened up onto the top of a RUBBISH SKIP which was open and venting its putrid rotten rubbish upwards to our open window above our rapidly thought after Single Bed in our Studio Unit Room.

I had to use a Drivers Licence and Farmers Club Card to wedge between the Window Closure and the Window Ledge which then supplied a Sound Proofing equivalency as they Claim.

How can this be the Number 5 out of 54 Hotel/Motels in Dunedin when it has so many issues, I have NO Idea.

Room Tip: Ask to be kept away from the Lift and Stairwell
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
315EuroOwner, Owner at 315 Euro Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It is always disappointing for us when our guests don't get the accommadation experience they expect when they stay at our inner city motel and it seems that this was the case for this guest. We also like to respond to any issues that guests raise in reviews.

We do remember this guest, who stayed for 2 nights in March 2013 as they intially booked our "studio suite" online; this is descibed on all our web listings as having a queen bed. We decided to place this guest across the alleyway to a larger access studio (still with queen bed) so they could have greater space, more sun and the balcony.

Access studios are a requirement for any property and provide a larger, easily accessible shower and toilet area for those in wheelchairs. This also means that the shower heads are not fixed and can be manipulated - ideal for those with limited mobility. The downside of this is that water can go wherever the showerhead is pointing and if you aren't careful, it does end up everywhere! On rare occasions water has got onto the carpet outside the bathroom because of the way the showerhead has been used. I think it is fair to say that will will be more vigilant in letting guests know this when they check into an access suite. We moved this guest out of the 3rd floor (top floor) access studio after their first night on their request, and we were able to move them further towards the back of the property, down onto the first floor.

Secondly - our quirky purple kitchen cabinetry! This surprising splash of colour is something that we inherited when we purchased the business (and not something we probably would have chosen ourselves if given the choice). We have embraced it in our branding, signage, advertising and even in the clothing we wear - there are little splashes of purple. We know that it is not a colour that everyone likes, but it fits our brand, and this reviewer is right - it is vibrant! We kind of like it too. We advertise our business with the vibrancy and energy of inner city living.

Finally - the disrupted slumber caused by noise. We do have double glazing which goes a long way to noise reduction but for those wishing to have total tranquility and quiet, inner city may not be the place for you. We offer an amazing location for guests wanting to advantage of being right in the centre of the city with everything a city offers "right there". Although tucked down an alleyway, we do get foot traffic, vehicles and yes - the trucks that empty the skip once a week and the van that delivers our linen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 315 Euro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 315 Euro Motel

Address: 315 - 319 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, stunning suites and unrivalled service - Chris and Adrienne Roy are committed to providing a superior accommodation experience with a choice of spacious executive studios and fully self-contained, luxurious one-bedroom apartment-style suites. All suites are warm and welcoming, well-appointed with modern and muted decor punctuated with surprising splashes of colour. Feel energised and step from our motel straight into the beating heart of the city - to cafes, shops, boutiques, local businesses, the University of Otago and Dunedin Hospital. Central and so close to everything! Whether coming to Dunedin to work or play, to be entertained or to explore the city and the outlying region; 315 Euro Motel is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 315 Euro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
315 Euro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 315 Euro Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.