We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yilmaz Turkish Takeaways

Yilmaz Turkish Takeaways
906 George St, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
(03) 479 0089
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 231 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Turkish
Restaurant details
london
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

really faniced a piza after a busy day sightseeing. everywhere else was close (at 9.30!) and Yilmaz was like a shining beacon. Had large hot chilli, freshly cooked. really nice and zingy, hit the spot!
yummmmm :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Turkish?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I recently purchased two takeaway kebabs from this restaurant.
They were wraps but that is as close to Turkish that they got.

The meat inside was like casseroled beef (great chunks which was mostly falling apart, although I had one large tough piece) and instead of the usual Tabouleh and wonderful Turkish salads there was just lettuce (I think I detected one small taste of parsley).

Needless to say 2/3 of each kebab ended up in the rubbish bin. I would definitely not recommend this 'restaurant'.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently discovered this and it's great! Great food and quick service. The pizza's have plenty on them.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Late Night Winner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Considering the time of night we were there, we thought we were lucky to do so well. Ate in-house from the turkish menu and both of us were well satisfied.
Maybe if we weren't hungry and we were't tired and it wasn't so late my impressions might be different but in the circumstances go for it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprising good pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great pizza at a very good price. I was surprised at how good the crust was. The restaturant is cute. We did "take away" as it was close to our hotel.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yilmaz Turkish Takeaways also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Yilmaz Turkish Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yilmaz Turkish Takeaways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.