We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper fish and chips!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Cafe

Best Cafe
30 Stuart St, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
+64 3-477 8059
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 211 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: $4 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand, Fish & Chips, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established in 1932 the "Best Cafe" has become a Dunedin icon. It has been through world war II and the great depression and has changed very little over the last 80 years it has been trading.My wife and I are privileged to be its third owners and have fell in love with a piece of Dunedin history. Our aim is to supply a great range of local fresh fish with our hand cut chips, also maintain our reputation as the Best oysters in New Zealand. If you remember the days when you used to get bread and rolled butter at the table as soon as you walked in, with feeds that never left you hungry then you will remember the "Best Cafe"
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Proper fish and chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I visited here with my family who are locals. It is quirky and just like fish and chip restaurants I remember as a child. I loved it, especially the plate of bread and butter. I had blue cod and chips and it was delicious. The fish tasted divine and the chips were hand cut. I would recommend anyone visiting Dunedin to go there for the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OleSchool, Owner at Best Cafe, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Hil2405,

Thanks for your great review, we're so glad that you appreciated our 'time capsule', we endeavor to keep it just the way people remember from their childhoods so it's lovely that you felt that way. Hopefully you come again next time you're visiting family! Thanks again for your feedback.

Regards
Susannah Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    22
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It truly is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was doing a quick walk of City Centre in Dunedin (taking pictures) and was headed back up to the Octagon from the train station when I came upon the Best Cafe - a seafood restaurant. I decided to try it out.

They seated me even though their posted closing time was in a half an hour. The decor was VERY modest but that was its charm! I ordered an entreé of scallops and the waitress warned me that the entreé didn't come with chips but I said that was fine. I also ordered a single Bluff oyster (I had been there the day before but didn't have any oyster in Bluff).

When the scallops came I was surprised how big they were! I asked the waitress for advice on how to properly eat the raw oyster and she had the boss out to tell me his "best technique". He stayed and we had a great talk while I finished the meal.

I was really impressed by the food but the service was the "best" thing about the Best Café!

I was there until after the posted closing time but just as I was about to leave a party of eight came in and Mark (the owner) took their orders.

If I didn't live 10,000 miles away, I'd be a regular!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OleSchool, Owner at Best Cafe, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Terry ,

Thanks for the great review, I hope you had an awesome holiday in good ole New Zealand.
It was great talking to you about your travels as its not every day one meets a well traveled man like yourself. Be sure to pop in next time your in Dunners as they will always be open for you.

Cheers

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ciotat, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent. Just excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fish and chips is not a fast food. It's not something that can be done by some nameless chain. We had blue cod here: it was clearly freshly cooked. So important with batter. And the fish was of excellent quality. And superb hand-cut chips. Really, really good. Go. Go without hesitation. Wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OleSchool, Owner at Best Cafe, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi MichaelLaCiotat,

Thanks for your wonderful review, we too realise how important it is to cook fish properly and we're so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience. Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards
Susannah Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Heard it was an outstanding fish cafe, found it to be very average. Small portions, soggy fries and so-so fish

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OleSchool, Owner at Best Cafe, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi Mike
Sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your meal, was this a Takeaway? or was it Dine In?
The reason I ask is so I can monitor the quality. As you can tell from our other reviews this is something that we pride ourselves on, so I am very disappointed that you had this experience and I apoligise.

Regards

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Post Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My group really likes good fish and chips - we have endeavored to locate the very best in every country we travel - most do not even rate a second thought, but this one is a stand-out - we were about to go to one of the ones recommended by ssome of the travel guide publications, but a couple of locals said absolutely not - go to the Best Cafe. It is clearly in the top 5 we have enjoyed worldwide and #1 in all of New Zealand - compares to one of the most highly regarded Chippy in th UK (Tenby Wales). As my English wife would say - this is a "Proper Fish & Chip Shop" - absolutely a must if you like great food of this type!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OleSchool, Owner at Best Cafe, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi jimmclendon,

Thanks so much for your review, we love the fact that people love that we're an authentic fish and chip restaurant! We're so glad that you enjoyed your Best Cafe experience and thank you again for your feedback.

Regards
Susannah Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Best Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.