We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Husbands favorite stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Motel to your Saves list
Garden Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Merrick, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Husbands favorite stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were in Dunedin for two nights during our honeymoon vacation and this was my husband's favorite place we stayed in. The woman at reception was very sweet. The evening before we left, her two young children (3rd one was on the way!) delivered breakfast to our door (we were leaving early the next morning) because they wanted to say hi. So sweet! Another plus is that this motel is pet friendly! While missing my dog I got to greet a sweet puppy staying with another guest! There's a little bit of a walk into the heart of town, but it's not too bad. Maybe 10-15 min walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here with two very small dogs, comfortable bed, all the necessaries and very clean. Loved the body wash dispenser in the shower. I did not find it noisy, a bit far from the shops to walk but a dairy is across the road and a supermarket a short drive away that has everything one could need. Very few motels allow our competing dogs to stay and this is a problem as we travel around the country so this is a real bonus for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we took a 2 bed apartment. very clean and all the usual requirements. we had a quiet apartment at the rear, might be a little noisy if you had one adjoining the main road if you are not used to town living. room was cold initially as all the windows were open, which is fine most of the time, but when we booked in the outside temp was only around 8'C - we switched on the single room heater and by the time we got back from dinner the room had warmed up. staff very friendly. well placed for Dunedin city itself

Room Tip: ask for one off the main road - it may be slightly more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a one bedroom unit so our son could sleep seperately (and away from a television) and found the room to be spacious, comfortable with a really nice roomy bathroom, our son wanted to take the shower home. The bed was very comfortable, just firm and the unit was quiet even though only 1 room back from the road. It is close to a number of really good restaurants, we chose asian and just followed the Uni students, outstanding tucker...
Althogh it is up the North end of town it is really simple to access all Dunedin has to offer from here and we will stay here again when we visit next..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Garden Motel in June 2012. We had a 1 bedroom room. It was great for three of us. Lots of room and very clean and very nice. It had a nice new bathroom also. This was one of our favorite places to stay in our two weeks in New Zealand.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We found this motel to be clean and tidy with some good environmental processes in place. It was modern and the free bit of milk for that first cuppa and the free newspaper at the start of the week were great touches.
Central without being right in town with noise everywhere. Just walk or drive down the same street and you are in town in no time. It was great to get accomodation at a fair price that still included cooking facilities so you don't have to eat out for three meals a day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This motel was clean and comfortable with good cooking facilities. It is quite eco-friendly (encouraging recycling and feeding the worm farm) which impressed me.

Beds were comfortable, lighting was good.

It is further from town than most motels on George Street - it's a 30 minute flat walk to Cadbury, the Otago Museum and University are closer. The big advantage of this is that many motels in George Street are amongst the student accommodation fort he University of Otago - with the attendant noise of students partying into the night - the Garden Motel was quiet.

It's also very close to the Botanic Gardens which are gorgeous.

Free 2 hours of internet.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Motel

Address: 958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for somewhere to stay that is affordable, well-appointed, close to the city, comfortable and clean? No matter what the purpose of your visit to Dunedin, whether it's a "home away from home" you want, or you just want to "get away from home," you need look no further than our motel. We have 16 non-smoking units ranging from small studios to 2-bedroom units (including 2 wheelchair access units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.