We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Clean, comfortable and courteous"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Motel to your Saves list
Garden Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
hobart
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“"Clean, comfortable and courteous"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a one bedroom unit so our son could sleep seperately (and away from a television) and found the room to be spacious, comfortable with a really nice roomy bathroom, our son wanted to take the shower home. The bed was very comfortable, just firm and the unit was quiet even though only 1 room back from the road. It is close to a number of really good restaurants, we chose asian and just followed the Uni students, outstanding tucker...
Althogh it is up the North end of town it is really simple to access all Dunedin has to offer from here and we will stay here again when we visit next..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Garden Motel in June 2012. We had a 1 bedroom room. It was great for three of us. Lots of room and very clean and very nice. It had a nice new bathroom also. This was one of our favorite places to stay in our two weeks in New Zealand.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We found this motel to be clean and tidy with some good environmental processes in place. It was modern and the free bit of milk for that first cuppa and the free newspaper at the start of the week were great touches.
Central without being right in town with noise everywhere. Just walk or drive down the same street and you are in town in no time. It was great to get accomodation at a fair price that still included cooking facilities so you don't have to eat out for three meals a day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This motel was clean and comfortable with good cooking facilities. It is quite eco-friendly (encouraging recycling and feeding the worm farm) which impressed me.

Beds were comfortable, lighting was good.

It is further from town than most motels on George Street - it's a 30 minute flat walk to Cadbury, the Otago Museum and University are closer. The big advantage of this is that many motels in George Street are amongst the student accommodation fort he University of Otago - with the attendant noise of students partying into the night - the Garden Motel was quiet.

It's also very close to the Botanic Gardens which are gorgeous.

Free 2 hours of internet.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

To stay in this motel you have to have a car or else it is way to far to walk to the city. Had a friendly as cat that came in to visit the room, really cute and adorable. The cleaning service crew was great, really cleaned everything in the room including the dishes. One thing that kind of bugged me was, there's 4 of us in the room, the next morning when I asked for some extra milk on top of the standard little jug that was given I was told to go to the dairy to buy some. A bit cheeky I thought, newspaper never came but I have to say, they let us stay past the 10 am check out time so we could finish our laundry, maybe an extra 15-20 minutes, so that was a point for them.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My owners stayed here for one night at the end of a long and fun road trip. When they did get to the motel they were so pleased, there was so much space and everything was clean and ready for them to chillax before the long drive home back to me. They said I could have stayed too so maybe I'll get to meet the really friendly lady human who gave owner mum the key, she was friendly and helpful owner mum says. She gave them milk for a cup of tea, she sounds nice. They have 2 cats who I would like to make friends with, owner mum says they were friendly too. Owner mum used the 1/2 hr free interweb, owner dad got some more from the office which cost a few small monies. It was a good walk into the city centre, I would not like it, I would prefer to go the other way to the park and botanical gardens which is closer, so I would be very happy here.
Thank you Garden Motel, my owners were well rested and had a safe jouney home with their friends thanks to your lovely comfy beds.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The motel is in North Dunedin - too far to walk to the city centre, but not difficult by car. We had a two-bedroom unit which was completely satisfactory. It had a full kitchen including an oven.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Motel

Address: 958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for somewhere to stay that is affordable, well-appointed, close to the city, comfortable and clean? No matter what the purpose of your visit to Dunedin, whether it's a "home away from home" you want, or you just want to "get away from home," you need look no further than our motel. We have 16 non-smoking units ranging from small studios to 2-bedroom units (including 2 wheelchair access units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.