We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel in South Island NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Motel to your Saves list
Garden Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Motel in South Island NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Clean, warm, spacious and very good rate for a family apartment. Comfortable beds. I fractured my ankle skiing and when my ground transport to the local airport was 50 minutes late, Chris the manager/owner offered to drive me.

This is by far the best motel apartment in south island. Most of them are tired looking though adequate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Clean, tidy and good location. Easy to find and a short trip up the road to the main shops and restaurants on George St. Was stranded by snow in Dunedin for two extra nights and the people that run the place are very friendly and the place is dog friendly which is rare these days. Clean, compact rooms and good amenities. Also, as a note to the owners, your cleaning staff are lovely! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

They provide free washing machine. Liitle bit far away from town center, but worth.

Room Tip: Ask for discount price before booking if stay 2D
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed in one of their small studios which was clean, comfortable and adequate.
There was a seperate kitchen area linked by door and en-suite shower facilities.

Room Tip: If more than 2 people go for a larger unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Lovely welcome and shown to unit. We had 3 night stay. The motel is a good 30 minute walk to the city centre but well maintained, clean and spacious studio with separate kitchen/dining area. Kettle, tea/coffee etc. replenished daily, full size cooker, microwave, toaster, fridge. Table and three chairs. Double and single bed, tv and hairdryer. Guest laundry. A little bit noisy at night but we gather that was due to the students returning for the start of the new year.

Would recommend but if we return would try to stay nearer the centre purely for convenience, parking is not easy in Dunedin itself and sometimes we had to walk very fast indeed to get into town to meet certain booking criteria (no buses passed us).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Very clean, well equipped, and still plenty of space for the kids to play in the living area. There the master bedroom was smallish, but fine for a couple. There was enough room in the second bedroom for both beds and a portacot. It doesn't have any play space outside, however, it was so close to the local primary school this wasn't a problem. Our four year old had a ball at the junior school playground.
It could be a bit noisy being so close to student flats, however, the owners offered earplugs which we didn't need at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed for three nights, just before Christmas. The apartment was very spacious with two bedrooms, a good kitchen, lots of storage including plenty of space in the bathroom to leave your toiletries (one of my pet hates is a bathroom with a basin standing by itself and nowhere to leave a toothbrush...).

There was lots of space for the kids to play inside when they were worn out from seeing the sights. Outside play wouldn't have been as easy - the room opened onto the carpark and there wasn't really any outdoor space to play on-site, but the playground in the school nearby is apparently available for kids to use. We didn't really need it, though. Too busy exploring the Peninsula and other attractions.

On the plus side, you can park right at your door.

There's no minibar or fancy ornaments that you have to worry about kids damaging. I always appreciate that!

Another thing I liked was that they provide a container for you to save your food scraps for their worm farm, as well as recycling.

We were troublesome guests in a way - my 2yo daughter needed to use the toilet after we'd checked out and Adrienne generously allowed us to use theirs, we forgot to leave one of the keys and I left my shoes behind but was able to return and get them a week later when I returned the key (this may not seem like much, but we have left things behind at hotels before - usually the kids' favourite toys!! - and have never seen them again).

The location was quiet (except when my kids didn't want to go to bed) and not too far from the centre of town to walk.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Motel

Address: 958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for somewhere to stay that is affordable, well-appointed, close to the city, comfortable and clean? No matter what the purpose of your visit to Dunedin, whether it's a "home away from home" you want, or you just want to "get away from home," you need look no further than our motel. We have 16 non-smoking units ranging from small studios to 2-bedroom units (including 2 wheelchair access units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.