We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluestone on George

Save Saved
You added Bluestone on George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluestone on George
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   571 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 hotels in Dunedin
Shakespeare, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Great location and excellent value for the price. Plan to stay there again during our 2009 trip to Dunedin

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    61
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
305
17
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

One of the very best places I've been to any where in the world. Beautiful place . Could not fault it in any way except that the view of the backs of houses in a bit drab. The things that matter-cleanliness, comfort, quality, room size, bathroom --superb

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

The reviews on here were so good my partner and I decided to splurge and stay here while in Dunedin. We're so glad we did. The spa was great and the heated bathroom floor and towel rail perfect for the chilly evening. Hope we can come back to Bluestone on George and Dunedin as we just didn't get enough time at either.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

We chose this accommodation solely on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews and we were completely satisfied. The rooms are still in "as new" condition and kept that way by meticulous service staff. Free internet in the lobby, free gymnasium, free in-room laundry and free parking at the front door. And it's just a just a short walk to the restaurants, cafes and many of the tourist sites in Dunedin. The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. An excellent establishment.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed 3 nights and could have easily stayed longer. The property is just 2 years old and in excellent condition. The room was perfect, large, quiet and well equipped. The owners, Neville and Sandra will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They kindly made reservations for us, lined up taxis when needed and were always cheerful. Can't say enough about the quality. There's a free Internet computer in reception and Internet access in the rooms is very inexpensive. The public area off reception is very nice, and the price of a glass of wine quite fair. We sat in the public area enjoying the room, wine and conversation with other guests.

The only challenge we had was figuring out how to use the washer / dryer in our room. Even with instructions written in English, it was still a real frustration to get a load through the machine. Neville and Sandra were there to help decipher the instructions, but in my thinking it should be easier than that. They did, however, provide all the laundry detergent you required.

Over the years I have stayed in a lot of motels in Dunedin, there's no question this is the best of the lot.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed here in March for 2 nights and what a lovely hotel. This is two years old and has been very tastefully decorated, it’s modern and spotlessly clean. Staff are very welcoming and helpful.

The room was spacious and had everything we needed – including kitchen with a washer/dryer (powder supplied) which is very handy when you’re away for a while and want to freshen up your clothes.

The bathroom is also spacious and designed in the style of a wet room. There was a courtyard accessed via the patio door with a table and chairs.

Free parking and free internet access available in reception until 9pm. You can get wi-fi or broadband in your room which is chargeable.

Location is also very good – 10 minute stroll to the Octagon.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay in Dunedin.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

This is not only the best hotel in Dunedin, it is one of the best in New Zealand, and certainly the best for the price. Well appointed, clean new hotel in a great location. On top of this, the friendly and helpful owner-manager team really made our stay. We have no negative comments whatsoever and will stay at Bluestone again each time we visit Dunedin.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluestone on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.