We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluestone on George

Save Saved
You added Bluestone on George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluestone on George
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   571 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been staying here twice a month for the last 6 months, and can't speak highly enough of the hotel and staff. Rooms are all fitted out to a high standard with excellent beds and bathrooms. I won't stay anywhere else in Dunedin.
DVDs are available from Reception if you fancy a night in and local restaurants will deliver direct to the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    61
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
305
17
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked Bluestone on George for one night of our three night stay in Dunedin and wished we had stayed there the whole time. It was beautiful. The room was gorgeous, the bed was comfy and the mini bar was well stocked and very well priced. Only complaint it about the amount of noise the housekeeping staff made in the morning... Saying that, it was the only thing that would have managed to wake us up after our very comfy sleep.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were made to feel most welcome on check in and the room was amazing. We were on the fourth floor and had a superb view of the city and this was most spectacular at night. The service was awesome and we really enjoyed the restaurant they directed us to. It is set back off the street so road noise was minimal. We really enjoyed the location for walking around the shops and to a number of fine dining choices. The luxury feeling was complete from linen, pillow choices and the oh so wonderful spa bath! OMG luxury at its best :) The room had been recently redecorated and it was tastefully done. Very comfortable bed and chairs, great to have the use of a stereo and a washer/dryer in the room. Great also to have an eco friendly policy within the room for recycling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We always feel welcome at Bluestone, comfortable, close to town. The rooms are spacious and clean. The service is always good. Since it is set back off the street it is quiet and a lovely balcony for those beautiful sunny days. Huge spa bath adds to the feeling of luxury.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After travelling from Mt Cook to Dunedin, my partner and I had big expectations of the hotels in New Zealand. When I entered, I was greeted warmly at reception and taken to my room. Initially as we were walking to the back of the complex I was a little nervous because I thought that we would have no view and be looking at all of the other hotels. How wrong I was! The room was very clean and beautiful. It was as pictured and the view was of the city. The spa bath was amazing with multiple jets that you could adjust. We stayed in a premier studio suite and we wish we stayed longer than one night. There is lots to see in Dunedin and if anyone says one night is enough, don't listen. We rushed to see Cadbury World, Railway station and Otago Peninsula. We missed out on the castle and the other historic buildings. This hotel is a gem and if staying in Dunedin, you won't be disappointed. The room is clean, modern and as pictured.

Room Tip: Book early if going during peak periods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this executive motel based on trip advisor comments/ rating and were not disappointed.
This is a stunning property that really has to be seen to be believed. The lounge is a quiet oasis to have a drink and you can borrow DVDs from the little study which also has magazines.
Lovely friendly host. The rooms are spacious with a lovely bathroom. Four towels and plenty of products in the bathrooms ( between two people)
A luxurious motel worth full rating!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed one night. Our room was of a reasonable size & nicely fitted out. Bathroom and particularly bath was lovely. Close enough to walk to restaurants and shops, we did so in the rain. I had a comfortable night's sleep except I could hear some women drinking/laughing out on the shared balcony until well into the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluestone on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.