We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluestone on George

Save Saved
You added Bluestone on George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluestone on George
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   571 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 hotels in Dunedin
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Virtually impossible to fault this superb property which is every bit as good as it appears on their website. Personable hosts who clearly work to exacting standards. Everywhere should be this good but rarely is. Everything was as described but personally I would prefer some airconditioning, I know its rare in the South but it would solve the age old quandary of whether to have the room airy but light or dark and dank at night. Having said that, Dunedin was exceptionally toasty during our visit. Thanks and well done, Bluestone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    61
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
306
17
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The accommodation was all we could have hoped for. After a long journey we arrived tired and grumpy and were pleased to be offered an early check in. The room was decorated in cool greys and blue/greens - very restful without being boring.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in the bluestone on george for three nights. loved all of it, it's conveniently located, you can walk to shops and restaurants, it's very clean and modern, the staff are friendly and helpful. you have a great spa bath and even an own washer/dryer for your clothes complete with complimentary detergent. the bed is super comfy and there is a tv and a couch as well as a little kitchen unit where you can make a cup of coffee. the resident cat, honey, is an added bonus as well as the two bunnies who live in a lovely enclosure outside the hotel entrance. parking is no problem and the neighbourhood was very quiet when we stayed there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It almost seems redundant to add another good review of Bluestone on George but it's one of the best places I have ever stayed so I wanted to add my compliments!

My partner and I were looking for a nice place to stay while visiting relatives in Dunedin for four days or so. This place had the best reviews on TripAdvisor and was available when we needed it. I felt quite excited having read the reviews and the website and was not disappointed.

If you like cleanliness, quiet, thoughtfulness and excellent modern design this is the place for you. It is actually a motel (an "executive" motel on their sign) but in New Zealand motels can be anything from skanky to luxurious and this is definitely top end. They do not allow children, and they request that you do not cook food with strong odors in the rooms. This may give you a bad impression but honestly we felt so comfortable and welcome- if very much on our best behaviour in terms of looking after the room.

It's hard to describe exactly what makes this place so special- everything has been designed and appointed so beautifully but with great thought for what the traveller needs. For instance, there is a power plug for your mobile phone by the bed, not halfway across the room. The comfy sofa is perfectly located to view the TV *and* to see out the window (they offer stunning views over Dunedin city; we had the room with a small balcony and there are rooms with their own access to a verandah with tables and chairs- we preferred ours). The slippers and dressing gown are not the stiff, over-bleached products you get in some places, but very soft and fluffy and smell lovely. Good soundproofing for exterior sound and blackout curtains.

What else? Amazing shower and spa bath with lovely strong jets. Luscious complimentary toiletries and a surfeit of fluffy towels and facecloths. All the kitchen gear was gorgeous and sparklingly clean. Brand spanking new washer dryer, with complimentary washing powder and excellent instructions (and clothes horse provided on request). Large screen TV with incredible picture, plus Sky, and a few DVDs to borrow downstairs. The even provide earplugs for those who are bothered by other guest noise.

Service? Warm welcome, excellent advice re eating locally, all of the staff couldn't do enough for you, and the friendliness felt so genuine. Our first night we arrived quite late and couldn't get the TV/Sky box to work. We weren't that bothered, went to bed, mentioned it on our way out the next day. When we came back it was not only fixed but Neville had left a box of chocolates by way of apology! Completely unnecessary but much appreciated.

They keep some lovely rabbits to help with recycling, and there is a gorgeous cat who visited us on our last day (on the balcony, not in the room I hasten to add).

A few small quibbles: Milo sachets - really? Could they not do a luxury hot chocolate that adults would like in the room teas/coffees? And the coffee provided for the plunger/cafetiere was not good at all - we could not make it produce a decent cup of coffee in 4 days - not a big deal in some places, but in New Zealand, a cardinal sin. And, finally, only offering a microwave oven for cooking alongside such wonderful cutlery, plates, cooking implements really limits what you can make for yourself- I would expect at least a hot plate of some kind. The food we'd lugged on our flight from Auckland was useless - rice, fresh veg, and oats for porridge in the morning.

However, these quibbles are exceedingly minor and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend BoG to anyone and in fact would recommend they visit Dunedin just to stay here! Thank you Neville and Sandra and all the team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is welcoming, clean and well-appointed. The staff is helpful and friendly. Our room was positively luxurious with great views over Dunedin towards the harbour (we were on the fourth floor). The bed was large and verycomfortable. The bathroom had a shower over the spa bath. There is a laptop in the lounge area if you don't have yours with you. A couple of unexpected bonuses were the cat and rabbits! These gave the modern luxury of the hotel a homely feel. The hotel is on the university end of George Street and situated off the main street. There is a discrete sign pointing up a driveway and you need to be on the look-out for it - which is why I called the review 'hidden gem'. There is ample parking for guests. We really loved our time here and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in mid Nov 2012. The staff were ery nice and room was spacious and cozy. The balcony got me lovely fresh air. It is about 15 mins walk to the town centre and you will find many cafe and restaurants close to the hotel. The hotel is located on a formed platform of a slope and you need to park your car on a slope. You need to be careful when you open the doors of your car, otherwise they would have bumped against other cars. The washer was useful for my 2 weeks trip in NZ. All in all, it is a very nice hotel for couples.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor room with an open view balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Looking for somewhere to stay in Dunedin ,that's far from the Madding Crown well not to far,Well that would be Bluestone on George,It's smart,sophisticated, and dare I say even sexy,all decked out in subtle greys and Silvers, a nice view out over the City,set back of the Road ,but closer enough to the the night life throw in a Jacuzzi a Hutch in the Drive way with a pair of Rabbits and what more could you ask.,of course nice staff there you are you have it all,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluestone on George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.