We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stays in our memory but not for the right reasons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Eady's Lookout

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Captain Eady's Lookout to your Saves list
Captain Eady's Lookout
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Moss Street | Portobello, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stays in our memory but not for the right reasons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I tend to agree with the review in Nov 2009. Richard, I think, does his best but appears a little forgetful and a reluctant host on occasions. Ana is busy working and cannot always be present to help with breakfast. Our wish to change times for breakfast appeared to be a bit of a problem and the impression given was one of inconvenience. The cold fare was very good but bacon and eggs arrived with the cereal and sausages stayed frozen (we stayed for 3 nights) and an omelette was out of the question. We were offered one egg or two but our reply was never heard.
There is a small resident's lounge with TV but insufficient room if all guests want to use the facilities.
The garden and views from the rear of the property are beautiful. Parking is difficult at the end of the cul-de-sac.
We enjoyed our visit but have reached the conclusion that we felt like naughty schoolchildren much of the time - fearful of being a nuisance. Like naughty schoolchildren we have found this amusing but others may not.
Portobello is lovely and the scenic drive to this hotel is well worth it as long as you leave plenty of time to negotiate the twisty roads.
Handy for Dunedin and the Albatross Centre. Yellow=eye penguins and sea lions can ve seen on arranged trips.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This is the most welcoming, relaxing, comfortable and beautiful b&b I have been to. The views out over the bay and the breakfast were fantastic, and the rooms clean, comfortable and characterful. Hosts Ana and Richard helped us to explore the peninsular, see some incredible wildlife, enjoy great local food, music, crafts and coffee, and made our stay at Captain Eady's the highlight of our trip around NZ. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota, U.S.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

I've been staying at B&Bs for 23 years; this one is my favorite.
The house was nice and comfortable with spectacular views, lovely gardens and local art.
The food was delicious and varied.
The hosts, Anna and Richard, made the experience so much more than just meals and lodging; their hospitality really set them apart from the other places that I've stayed. They
accommodated the quirks of my traveling group with good humor. The interesting and wide-ranging conversations that I had with them are some of my fondest memories of New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We stayed here in 2006 especially because the owner is a jazz lover and so is my husband. He was looking forward to some nice chats, but was disappointed. The owner didn't play jazz records because the room upstairs was occupied and he hardly talked about it. Perhaps we caught him on a bad day. We had the room at the back, which was pleasant enough with a view on the side garden. We understood later they had started the B&B only recently and the wife was still working elsewhere at the time. So her husband had to do breakfast. Clearly he had no idea how to be a host, what to put on the table, how to make coffee.
Reading the other reviews obviously it only got better. The house itself is lovely and cosy and the wife is very, very nice indeed! But I don't think I'd stay there again, it's rather out of the way, although it is certainly a very beautiful - and in bad weather a very dangerous! - drive.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

I am so glad we stayed at this beautiful home. The host is a jazz expert of some renown, and shared his interest by asking me to tell him about my favorite music. The breakfasts were wonderful, the views stunning, and the other guests were pleasant companions. We would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

Awesum views! Great hosts...very very friendly and helpful...delicious food and very hospitable!Rooms were very comfortable and warm!Would definitely go back,,,to them...

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

This was the gem of our 24 days in new zealand- fantastic hosts, a welcome glass of sauvignan blanc after a long journey. We cannot rate this place high enough. We will return. The views, the breakfast, the chats. Now we are returned we now want to redo our home.

  • Liked — a home from home; Richard went out of his way to help me out of predicament, the jazz collection
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Eady's Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Eady's Lookout

Address: 2 Moss Street | Portobello, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Eady's Lookout 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay in large character house , easy access to the Albatross Colony, close to penguins and ocean beaches. Beautiful waterside location, warm in winter, with secluded garden and superb harbour views. Two queen rooms with en suites. A special breakfast in our conservatory. Dinner by arrangement. Antiques and local artwork, a vast jazz collection, internet access. Cats in residence. Rainbow friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Eady's Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Eady's Lookout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.