We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Peaks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Peaks
Save
You added Highland Peaks to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   333 Chain Hills Road, Dunedin RD1, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Palo Alto, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

This was our second stay at Highland Peaks (the first one was in 2007) and it was--if possible--even better than the first time! Di and Peter Espie are extraordinary hosts; their hospitality is unfailingly warm, gracious and so generous you never want to leave. The accommodations are lovely, with every comfort and amenity you could want (and some you probably hadn't even thought of). Wonderful food, spectacular views, a cozy fireplace, comfy places to curl up and read...and of course there are all those fabulous nature destinations nearby that they're only too happy to help you navigate. Really, who could ask for more?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our family had a great time and enjoyed delicious local wine and cheese with fabulous hosts Peter and Di.

Peter and DI generously took care of us and shared local stories in a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.

Our daughter had lots of fun feeding the sheep that live on the beautiful rolling hill side. In the picturesque, quite countryside but with fast access to Dunedin this is a spot we would recommend to other families and couples.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Stayed at this B & B In March. A beautiful house with huge vistas of countryside and animals. Our bedroom was luxurious and very comfortable, the bathroom was heated (a rarity, we found in NZ) and beautifully finished. We had use of a very comfortable lounge and dining room and free internet access. Breakfasts were especially yummy. Peter makes ace muesli stuff with fresh fruit and cream or yoghurt and Di cooks on request. If you get the chance accept their offer of evening meal as they are both excellent cooks and even catered for us picky people (one veggie, one non fish).

Peter is a mine of information about local flora and fauna and also a vintage car fan! There is a lovely friendly doggie living there but she is kept in a seperate room so people with allergies need not worry. You will also get introduced to the pet sheep.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Dunedin, especially at Highland Peaks.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Our last two days were spent with Di and Peter and we were made so welcome we did not want to leave New Zealand. We thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed and easy going style in their home and had a superb dinner with four other guests on our last night. We would recommend this location to anyone visiting the Dunedin area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevonUK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Staying at Highland Peaks is a unique experience and not for the faint hearted! Peter and Di offer wonderful accomodation - a sitting room stocked with books, CDs,DVDs and laptop, and a very comfortable spacious suite with excellent facilities. Their hospitality is second to none.Di's muffins and muesli are to die for! Peter produced a sumptious dinner for his guests accompanied with some award winning NZ wines. These are true entertainers! We also had a wonderfully full and informative day out with Peter discovering all the sights and sounds of the Otago Peninsular - the city, gardens, seals, penguins, albatross - his enthusiasm and knowledge is inspiring.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Nothing is too much trouble for Di and Peter, who are great hosts at this wonderful B&B. We found their company delightful, their food and wine stupendous, the accommodation very clean and comfortable, and the views from the hill superb. Peter's Eco tour was extremely enjoyable and informative, and tailored to our interests and wishes. Even after we left we received messages and photos by email as reminders of our stay which is a measure of the care given to guests.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The desire by the owners to create a welcoming, relaxed and homely environment whilst giving the guests privacy and luxury was successfully done. We felt welcome but not beholden, relaxed, well fed and watered. A quiet and beautiful retreat and yet close to the city. The cooking was excellent and the owners knowledge of the local wines and environment made for some great conversation.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Peaks

Address: 333 Chain Hills Road, Dunedin RD1, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Highland Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a small, modern, eco-friendly luxury lodge with panoramic views and 21 acres of forest and grounds. We are centrally located between the city & airport. Our suites feature large comfortable beds, double showers, spa baths, plus sundecks & an outdoor hydrotherapy spa pool. You'll experience warm NZ hospitality, fine cuisine & wines. We limit guest numbers to maximize personal service, and also provide personally guided, private eco-tours. Plus travel carbon offsets for our guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Peaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.