We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Holiday 2011” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Peaks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Peaks
Save
You added Highland Peaks to your Saves list
333 Chain Hills Road, Dunedin RD1, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Christmas Holiday 2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Highland Peaks for two nights including 2012 New Year Day; there is only one word that describes the whole experience ''FANTASTIC''. The quality of the rooms and facilities is on par with any London 5 star hotel room, but peaceful!! Our hosts Peter & Di were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Peter took us for a local tour to see the wildlife and his knowledge made the trip very special, he is a wealth of knowledge. If we ever get a chance to travel back to New Zealand this is a ''Must Stay Accommodation. A big thank you to you both for a memorable stay.

Peter, I have not read the book yet but will do and thank you for the quality nightcap great conversation!!

H & Y

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

Warm friendly hosts, Peter and Di greeted us and escorted us to a lovely room with gorgeous views and very nice amenities. Turns out we were upgraded to the next level room.

We were 'treated' to a good (but not as gourmet as touted) dinner with wines that were poured freely.

Our host, Peter, casually let us know that he could guide us on our visit to the Otago Peninsula to see albatross and penguins. We took up the offer and we can't fault his knowledge and enthusiasm about the ecology and history of the area. The day was fun and Peter took parallel photos to our own and gave us a CD at the end of our visit.

Like the gentleman who found the charge for the wine 'took the shine off', we experienced much the same thing at the end of our stay. If money is no object for you, this is the place for you because it's lovely. Otherwise, be very clear about what everything costs upfront. We have stayed at many wonderful places in our travels but we've never paid so much for a two- night stay -- anywhere!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at Highland Peaks for 3 nights in November and found it to be such a lovely place.
Rooms were cosy, comfortable and well decorated with all amenities you would expect from a hotel, available. The place is located about 15-20 mins from the city and is ideal if you are looking for a change from the usual hustle & bustle of the city. We didn't have any problems getting into or out of the city with lifts from Peter ( if arranged earlier with him). In any case, taking a taxi is not a big problem unless you are there on the day Elton John gave a concert!
We spent an entire day with Peter when we signed up for his day tour around Dunedin city and Otago Peninsula. We found Peter to be extremely accommodating, a great host and very knowledgeable.
Peter is also a great cook and we even enjoyed his simple preparation of burgers!
My two girls fell in love with Peter & Di's pet dog, Bud and cat, Cindy. Both are very friendly animals that love people. Bud is especially gentle and loves to be with children.
All in, it was a great stay for us at Highland Peaks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

A luxury Lodge said the Web Site. "Expect Excellence " It said.

We arrived brimming with expectation for our weekend away to watch the Rugby in Dunedin.

On arrival Peter was friendly and hospitable, the view was good and the rooms were good executive standard( but not luxury) from there it was all down hill.

There were 3 broken down old vehicles in the car park.

I walked out and my foot went through a rotten plank in the deck.

Sky TV but no Sport channel while we were there for the RWC.

We got home from the rugby, went to have a shower and there was no water in the taps.??

The friendly dog was smelly and stunk out the entrance.

The Garden was full of rubbish,

The Native forest appeared to be a paddock of gorse.

We paid big money to stay here and it was a rip off and was poorly run..

Peter appears to be a very nice and genuine guy. but he is charging top dollar for a "Luxury lodge" that is no better than an average bed and breakfast.

His web site mis-represents the place and the reality of it once you arrive quickly sobers you up.

After coming here with a high sense of expectation we left with a very sour and disappointed taste.

This is a rip off and an example of the NZ Hospitality industry at its worst.

Matthew Friost
Greymouth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZLuxuryLodge, Owner at Highland Peaks, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Builders were finishing a new suite during this visit. Due to this, surplus building materials were present on site prior to their removal, and classic vehicles being restored were temporarily present in the guest car park. Sky sport is available, but was not activated, as rugby was being shown live on alternative channels. Standard executive suites do not normally provide spa baths, genuine leather and native kauri bedroom furniture, and complimentary wine, as ours do. The outdoor decking is new, not rotten, but a knot split when Mr Frost presumably jumped down from the spa pool steps. An air block following the installation of a spa bath in the new suite caused a malfunction in our water supply. This fault occurred after 12 pm and was rectified by 6.15 am. We retain gorse on the margins of our native forest for both ecology and amenity. It provides an environment for forest seedling regeneration and is one of the few winter nectar and pollen sources for native insects and birds. Guests who stayed at exactly the same time as Mr Frost rated their stay as excellent. Nevertheless, we apologise unreservedly for the inconvenience these events caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We arrived late in the evening after a rugby match with our 2 yr old and were all made to feel very welcome. Peter had made a beautiful dinner and the log fire was cranking out the heat. Spectacular views and lovely home, but I was a little surprised to get a $150 bill for wine alone. I had 3 glasses of wine and my (pregnant) wife had none. While the wines were nice, I struggled to see how he came to that value. He also forced the wine on the other guests who weren't paying for food and wine, so I suspect that I was subsidising their drinking. Took the shine off an otherwise lovely night in a place that I would otherwise recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZLuxuryLodge, Owner at Highland Peaks, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
The wine purchase was simply split pro rata between the reviewer and his travelling companions, not on the basis of individual observed consumption, hence the amount charged. The other party present paid for their own wines. Highland Peaks also provided complimentary wine, which was freely served to all present. We resent being overcharged for wine when we travel ourselves, so our in-house wines are reasonably priced, though we cellar only quality vintages. Our guests are welcome to bring their own wines if they prefer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Our family of 7 including 2 very young children have enjoyed our stay tremendously. There is a lot of space for the kids to explore and the rooms are very comfortable. Peter and Di have made us feel very much at home and this is definitely the most memorable stay of our New Zealand trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The Inn is located above a beautiful valley, with great views of the mountains on the opposite side. Our room was very large, luxurious bathroom and patio with the stunning view. Breakfast was more than ample. Peter and Di were wonderful hosts. We spent two days with Peter doing private ecotours which was a special treat. I hope we get a chance to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Peaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Peaks

Address: 333 Chain Hills Road, Dunedin RD1, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a small, modern, eco-friendly luxury lodge with panoramic views and 21 acres of forest and grounds. We are centrally located between the city & airport. Our suites feature large comfortable beds, double showers, spa baths, plus sundecks & an outdoor hydrotherapy spa pool. You'll experience warm NZ hospitality, fine cuisine & wines. We limit guest numbers to maximize personal service, and also provide personally guided, private eco-tours. Plus travel carbon offsets for our guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Peaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.