We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Days in Dunedin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   588 Great King St, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“2 Days in Dunedin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booking on line means you are relying on reviews and appearance as well as cost. We had 2 great days at the Alhambra. The roome are large and well appointed. It is handy to town and there are convenience shops and restaurants/takeaways just up the road. The person on the front deask was extremely helpful, even found me a dentist when I lost a filling which was surprising on Friday afternoon. Recommended by four experienced travellers

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
12
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Churton Park
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here before and loved the apartment with its spacious and comfortable surroundings. It is slightly further than the city centre but close to where we needed to be. All within walking distance of most things as with Dunedin!! We still had a rental car as we needed to go to different stadiums.
We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here over Easter with my daughter and twin 4 year-old granddaughters. We were immediately made very welcome, with a large toy box produced for the girls. When we went to our room, the owners opened up the adjoining room door and told us we could also use that room! The extra space was very much appreciated over our 5 day stay. We were also given the use of the laundry facilities at no charge and washing was hung out for us on one occasion. So all around, a very welcoming and friendly place to stay. It was not the cheapest I considered, but looked (and was) clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: One night there was some late-night noise from the people upstairs. If noise is a major concern, per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spacious unit with separate living, bed and bathrooms. Without a doubt, the most comfortable bed we slept in in our 13 night trip. Off street parking. No restaurant but close to restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: Quiet room on second level. Within walking distance of city (food and shopping).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

The Alhambra Oaks Motel, is a nice quiet motel, close enough to town that you can walk in for a meal. Great service with a guest laundry and a friendly greeting when you arrive. recommended stop in Dunedin

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

This was such a surprise. Fabulous, quiet location. I have travelled the world and this is the cleanest apartment I have EVER stayed in. I booked a single apartment and was greeted with a double room.The towels were on a heated towel rail and the bath had an inbuilt spa. Just heaven. Every utensil you could need. top notch !!

Room Tip: I just loved the entire place. My room was on the road but it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Thank you for a warm welcome, excellent dining advice and comfortable stay in Dunedin. Facilities all great, very well situated and just love having plunger coffee available. A rare treat.
Will no doubt see you again on any future visits.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge

Address: 588 Great King St, Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#18 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#22 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Oaks Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.