We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast
13 McAuley Road | Portobello, Dunedin 90014, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 61 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed two nights with Mary and Pat in March. They were both very hospitable-scones when we arrived and wine in the evening with them. The breakfasts were the best! Everything was homemade by Mary. Mary arranged dinner and tours for us in Portobello? They also had a nice spa we used in the evenings. We can highly recommend a stay at the McCauley Glen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a lively night here, rooms are very comfortable, clean and nicely done, place is quiet and we slept very well. Mary was a wonderful host and breakfast was fantastic. We had moved here after a bad stay in another B&B and it was wonderful to find what we were looking for! Rooms are good value too, so i do recommend this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for two nites in the Ambrosia Room and it was our best B&B experience on the South Island. The room was excellent and the breakfasts were incredible!

Mary was extremely helpful setting up two penguin tours for us. The scenery is fantastic. There are two very good restaurants in this small town.

Room Tip: Choose the Ambrosia Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a fantastic time with our hosts Mary and Pat, and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was lovely, the scones and breakfast delicious, and we felt like we were in the company of long-time friends. Hope to be able to return some day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Mary served us the best hot breakfast that I have had among all of the NZ B&B's in which we have stayed! We started with a fresh fruit/custard/warm muffin concoction, followed by muesli and yogurt, toast with a variety of delicious jams, and then fried eggs, hash browns, with bacon. Fresh squeezed orange juice and a perfect cup of coffee. She served us in her dining room overlooking her lovely garden and gave us spot-on advice about activities in the Otago Peninsula.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We enjoyed our relaxing stay here with Mary and Pat. We had 6 wonderful days, enjoyed Mary's lovely breakfasts and spent a lot of time in her beautiful garden. We can only recommend this wonderful and nice little B&B!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I had such a lovely time in Dunedin and this is all because of Mary and Pat's efforts to ensure that all their guests were well looked after. The room was more than perfect and Mary's breakfasts were amazing. The kayak trip with Pat was very informative and fun. This is the place to stay in Dunedin!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 McAuley Road | Portobello, Dunedin 90014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic harbor-side location in Portobello on the Otago Peninsula, 20 minutes from Dunedin city. Set amongst a tapestry of rolling hills, sandy ocean beaches, picturesque bays and inlets. Central to Albatross, Penguin and Seal colonies. Nestled in secluded, tranquil gardens, filled with color, fragrance and birdsong. McAuley Glen Boutique B&B, offers luxury accommodation, private rooms with modern comforts, Jacuzzi spa, sauna, wireless broadband, home style gourmet breakfast/baking, welcome refreshments, and warm relaxed kiwi hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.