We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel with lots of character on a very very steep hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Brothers Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Rattray St | Carpark off Brown St and Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel with lots of character on a very very steep hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We spent two nights here in March having driven down from Christchurch at the start of our month in NZ . Very boring drive until we reached Oamaru when scenery improved dramatically .Would definitely recommend visiting the Moeraki Boulders which were strange and beautiful orbs lying in the sea and on the beach.

The Brothers Boutique Hotel is on a very very steep hill. We had difficulty finding it but got there in the end more by luck than judgment. This may have been more our fault than the directions provided on their website but we were very relieved to reach their private car park and not have to go round the centre yet again!

Nice hotel with free internet in the lounge and a very welcome glass of wine from the owner when we arrived around 6.00 pm. We had the old "Maid's Room" opposite the breakfast room. Quite small and no wardrobe space, just a hook on back of door, but this didn't matter as we were only staying two nights and didn't unpack much. Very clean and nicely decorated. Comfortable bed with good quality linen. Small en suite shower room which was perfectly adequate. Breakfast was the usual continental style as provided in most of the places we stayed in during our trip and was perfectly fine. Cafetierres of coffee or pots of tea were served at guests' tables and you just helped yourself to fresh fruits, juice, cereal etc and made your own toast as and when you needed it in the toaster provided. Lots of spreads and preserves. Very busy when we were there with separate tables.

The lounge was large and comfortable and contained a laptop with free internet access, guide books, newspapers etc. Nice views across Dunedin from the windows - obviously as very high up!

Plenty to see in Dunedin itself. We liked the historic railway station and the Otago Settlers' Museum. Enjoyed a vegan meal at Circadian Rhythm Cafe on our first night and a Turkish meal near a cinema off the Octagon on our second evening. As with most NZ places, it's best to eat early as places seem to close around 8.00 pm.

Would definitely recommend a drive out to the Otago Peninsula. We visited the albatross centre and Penguin Place. Great to see the albatrosses flying overhead with their 3 metre wing spans. Penguin Place is best to visit in the late afternoon when the yellow-eyed penguins return from the sea. Amazing to see them up close. Great value for money and the staff go that extra mile to ensure you see the penguins and learn all about their conservation work.

Lots of previous reviewers have mentioned the steep climb back to hotel from the town. Yes Rattray Street is very steep and you wouldn't want to do it many times in one day but it's good exercise after a big dinner and far too much time spent in a car on previous days. If really not keen to walk, guests could always drive down and park in the town. Mind you, driving up the hill is pretty hairy too especially in an underpowered hire car!

Would definitely recommend the Brothers Hotel as a good place to stay and worth the $170 per night. I was less keen on Dunedin itself with all its Edinburgh street names and yet nothing like Edinburgh. I was much more interested in seeing NZ countryside than its towns but it is a convenient place to stop during a tour of NZ.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrothersHotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for your kind words and fair descriptions about the Hotel. Our carpark seems to create a lot of interest!!

For those considering staying our 15 space carpark is in a very obvious place right beside the Hotel (25 feet away ) with access off Brown Street and Bishops Road. It is on the same level as the second floor of the Hotel. So leave your luggage inside on that level and venture downstairs to check in . We have a full descrption on our website on the locations page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    51
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
104
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

This was our first stay in B& B in NZ an what a great start to our tour, after viewing other trip advisor reviews we didn't want the room by the front door, but this is where we ended up, we were surprised that there was no noise at all so we had a great sleep and the breakfast was a good start to our next day, we wanted to stay longer but will now have to go back again thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Very dissapointed , room was very basic , no clothes storage only a hanger on the back of the entry door , bathroom was a challenge- poorly lit & very low shower rail- ouch!!! , view from the room ( veranda ) was good over the city- location better suited to mountain goats that us wrinkleys!! , breahfast described as continental, was very basic- parking was close to a nighmare.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrothersHotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Just a small footnote to all those reading this. We are offering a place with character and charm, close to inner city amenities and with arguably the best views in town. Fortunately 99% or our guest share these sentiments The hilly location , smaller European style rooms and the inability to unpack ones suitcase in some of our rooms is a factor of the building being what it is, a 1920’s stately home that the Christian Brother teaching order lived in . There was also a genuine desire to retain the character and history and we are very proud of the restoration. If all the issues raised by this reviewer are important to you then I would think you should consider other options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Brothers is a gem. The original Christian Brothers residence has been painstakingly updated into a charming boutique hotel. The short walk down to the Octagon may be a bit of a climb on the return but it is well worth it.

The hosts, Rod and Shelley, are experienced travelers themselves and very welcoming. Add in a great view of the city, wells appointed rooms, a comfortable lounge and you have a brilliant place to stay in Dunedin.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

It's more or less true that everywhere in Dunedin is uphill. And The Brothers is worth the walk. It's located over the road from the Catholic cathedral, a mere 5 minute walk down to the city centre (and 10 minutes back).
The hotel is a beautiful old house that's been well refurbished to retain the feel of the original. The rooms are not huge (except in comparison to Parisian hotels) and the bathrooms are compact. But the hotel is a real gem.
A big, comfortable bed takes up most of the space in a high-ceilinged room. It (the room) opened onto a long balcony. The bathroom is a one-person affair: a walk-in shower, hand basin and loo. The teev is small, but seriously, who needs it
Breakfast is served (appropriately) in the breakfast room. It begins with fresh plunger coffee followed by stewed fruits, yoghurt, toast and spreads.
The guest lounge is beautiful light, airy room that has a laptop connection, newspapers, brochures and lounge chairs of the sort that hard-working Christian brothers would have relaxed into to forget the trials of Year 9 last period.
Pedestrian entry is by ramp and steps from Rattray Street so head for the carpark entry with your luggage.
Trust me; you'll want to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Other than having to climb up a steep hill to return from town, this hotel was a great place to stay. The rooms are small and spartan, but impeccably clean. The lounge area is very comfortable and many travelers gather there for a glass of wine before dinner. Free internet is provided - a nice plus! Rod is the innkeeper here and he couldn't have been more helpful. Glad we stayed here ... if only for one night!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

This is a small hotel which is well placed to explore Dunedin and oozes character from both the building and the proprietor.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Address: 295 Rattray St | Carpark off Brown St and Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brothers Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 12 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Booked direct with us for more options and availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brothers Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.