We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Brothers Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Rattray St | Carpark off Brown St and Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here at the end of cycling the Otago Central Rail Trail. The renovation of this small hotel is wonderful and the services, hosts, beds, breakfast and everything about the property is just fabulous. We had a short walk into the centre of Dunedin for dinner and a slightly longer walk back uphill (well, we did have dinner 'on board!). The hotel is in a quiet spot and has easy access to the city and sights. The owners are passionate about their hotel, Dunedin and I would stay again without hestitation and highly recommend anyone else to do the same.

Room Tip: Small rooms as advertised are exactly that, but functional and personable. If you like more space in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and for liking The Brothers for what it is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    51
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
104
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Really great location in a fabulous town. The reception was very warm and helpful. He was enthusiastic about all the options available in town and the otago peninsula. Rooms are sparse but adequate- the lighting could be better. Loved the balcony view and large lounge area. The breakfast room is charming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After travelling around NZ for a few weeks and experiencing quite a variety of accommodation styles, we were really hoping that our last few nights would be perfect. And they were! From the moment we arrived Rod made us feel extremely welcome, and spent some time advising us where we should go and what we should do. Our room on the top floor was lovely and light, with a great view over the cathedral to the harbour and hills. Dunedin is a very pretty city and The Brothers is the ideal spot from which to appreciate it. The location is excellent, with great restaurants just a brisk walk away (and the uphill climb on the way back makes you feel quite virtuous, despite all the good food and wine you've consumed). The guest lounge is a lovely spot to enjoy a pre-dinner drink and a chat to fellow guests, and having the use of the guest computer is an added bonus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
One of the pleasures of running a Hotel is meeting people who enjoy life and Travel. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

It's true
Friendly hospitality from Rod and the cosy air of old wood
The views are spectacular and the shared living room is great
A lovely spot that is close to the centre of Dunedin
Though the room was a bit small

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a room at this hotel for three nights using the web interface, but it turns out they do not permit couples with children or infants. We didn't discover this until coming downstairs for breakfast after our first night, with our generally quiet 5-month old in a carrier. The proprietor immediately dressed us down in front of other guests who were having their breakfast and straight up told us our baby wasn't allowed. To avoid further embarrassment we packed up and left immediately (without having the breakfast we had paid for). The proprietor handled this incredibly unprofessionally - he could have discussed the situation privately. This was clearly a misunderstanding and not a deliberate deception on our part, and deserved to be handled with respect by the owner. He claimed their no children policy was obvious on their website but it simply isn't, or at least it wasn't when we booked the room. We have just checked again and there is now a disclaimer at the bottom of the booking page (not the hotel's actual webpage) that says that the hotel is unsuitable for children. We didn't see this when we booked (perhaps our fault or perhaps it wasn't there?) but whatever the case this 'feature' of the hotel needs to be made clearer; we certainly wouldn't have booked this hotel if we knew. Regardless, you shouldn't have to get half way through the booking process to discover that children are not permitted. The proprietor claimed during our public dressing down that the child-free nature of the hotel is a selling point and that people stay here BECAUSE there are no children or infants permitted. Frankly, this assertion is very difficult to believe when this point is not advertised clearly on his webpage. Perhaps "CHILDREN and BABIES NOT PERMITTED" in bold typeface on the front (i.e, welcome) page of the website would get the message across. He would get the guests he wanted and not be troubled by others. The proprietors must have their reasons for this policy but it is a pity to exclude a large proportion of the population from enjoying what is a nice hotel in a great location. In general I can't understand child-free policies in ordinary locations (honeymoon type resorts in exotic locations perhaps, but really, this is Dunedin!) It is questionable what response would be had to a hotel that advertised "red-headed people not permitted" or "homosexuals not permitted", so why are hotels allowed to discriminate against couples with children? Certainly in some states in Australia it can be considered illegal to refuse to let a room to adults with children unless it can be proven that there is no space to accommodate that child safely. For many parents who take their own portacots travelling, this could rarely be argued. A check of the NZ Human Rights Commission site leaves the legal rights of the child in such cases unclear but we will do further research on this point out of interest. It seems though although proprietors may have some sort of way around anti-discrimination laws to cut out a large proportion of your potential clients is also short sighted from an economic point of view. We give this hotel this rating because of the way in which this situation was handled; the hotel itself is very nice for all those childless couples out there and would ordinarily we would have recommended it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
The review does not warrant a response other than it meets Trip advisor’s Support Team’s internal “entertainment guide” which I am not buying into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very nice room on top floor, with huge picture window and balcony overlooking the entire city of Dunedin. Historic and charming older building. Small rooms due to the age of the building, however, nothing lacking. Rod is a friendly and informative host.  Took the host's advice and booked the morning train excursion into the gorge; scenic, an enjoyable and relaxing trip. Back into town for lunch and then on to the Elm Tours Eco expedition in the afternoon. Tiring hike but "ya gotta love those penguins." Back into town by 10:00 p.m to sit with a glass of wine for a while outside a bar in the Octagon to watch the world go by. Best birthday ever.

Room Tip: The rooftop balcony affords wonderful views; however, it is shared by several rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We only stayed one night but enjoyed our stay, and made the most of our short time in Dundein thanks to a very helpful host. He gave us sightseeing and restaurant recommendations, as well as all the brochures/maps we needed, which worked out perfectly. Yes, as the website & the other reviewers say, the rooms are small. There is a welcoming lounge downstairs to spread out in and if you have a balcony, it is nice spending time out there too. The breakfast was fine, nothing remarkable but doesn’t make any claims to be. Nice view & good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Address: 295 Rattray St | Carpark off Brown St and Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brothers Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 12 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Booked direct with us for more options and availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brothers Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.