We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town and hospital but VERY basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexis Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Alexis Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   475 George Street | Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Tubingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Close to town and hospital but VERY basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived here expecting so much more. The place is clean enough but it is very old and basic. The bathroom looks as if it is 40+ years old. I can't even sit on the couch because it is making me itchy. Smokers are smoking outside their rooms and the smoke is coming into ours. The child play area consists of two dirty swings and a ladder. The electric blankets don't work. You can hear the traffic quite well and the helicopter bringing in the freshly injured. No view except of old buildings. Beds are small and not the king size bed I had thought we would get. That said, it is convenient to the hospital and centrally located. I cannot understand the "excellent" reviews.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
34
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The motel unit we stayed in needed redoing. The bathroom had many areas of chipped paintwork. The drapes were old fashioned as was the furniture. There was rubbish stuffed down the side of the sofa and paper under one of the beds so not impressed by that. No extra blankets or pillows provided and no wardrobes in rooms. Headboards on the single beds not even attached .Location is good but for the price charged there are much better motels in central Dunedin. Stayed here several times in the first years it opened but were very disappointed this time and would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Similar to other reviewers, I was delighted to find a centrally located, clean comfortable motel. Our room had plenty of space, a spa in the bathroom and all mod cons including free wifi. Just 1-2 mins walk is everything that you might need for meals and entertainmant. Our room had a lovely view of the church next door too. The lady who ran the motel was extremely helpful and went out of her way to answer any queries we had. It was spot on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, null, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

my husband and I have just spent 5 nights in this wonderful motel, we had a studio unit, and we found this very clean , very comfortable and very up to date, the owners and all staff were very friendly , and we felt very much at home, If I ever have to come back to dunedin to stay Alexis Motel will definately be my first phone call for accomodation, also being next to Knox church means it is close to everything

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just had a very warm, dry stay at this Motel. Owner went out of her way to phone me early in the morning to advise of black ice outside the Motel. Very clean and tidy. Bathrooms slightly dated, but still very useable and comfortable. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, Bahamas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Well situated for downtown and other attractions. Clean, spacious and nicely furnished. Good value for the money. Free wi-fi available was an added bonus. I would definitely recommend this motor lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Had a great weekend in Dunedin for the Uni open day. Alexis motel is so handy to everything - we didn't really need our hire car. Lovely rooms, very comfortable beds, soft pillows and spotlessly clean. We expected a bit of noise - it is a Uni city after all, but the only pleasant noise was from the piper at the church next door and the church bells on Sunday. Chris couldn't have been more helpful. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexis Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Motor Lodge

Address: 475 George Street | Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexis Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robyn welcomes you with warmth and a smile, to this Modern Self Contained Dunedin Studio and Apartment style Motel accommodation. Centrally located in Dunedin city. Close to cafes, restaurants, and shops, and a 5-7 minute walk to the Octagon. Alexis has a North facing,sunny outlook with a variety of room configurations from Studios through to one and two bedroom units, which will suit Solo travellers, Couples or Family groups. Robyn prides herself on the friendly helpful hospitality, and the clean comfortable units. After 10+ years of owning accommodation in Dunedin, Robyn has a wealth of local knowledge to share and can help you plan your day, arrange tours, or suggest an itinerary to optimize your visit if you need her to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexis Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Motor Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexis Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.