We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel room but don’t try to cook” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 858 George Street

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
858 George Street
Save
You added 858 George Street to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   858 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Kent, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel room but don’t try to cook”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The motel looks quite new and our unit felt like a hotel room (which was good) but it lacked cooking facilities. Whilst there was a microwave and cutlery etc the food preparation had to be done by television and there was no kitchen sink (as in all other places we have stayed) so we had to wash up etc in the bathroom basin.
Otherwise, good facilities but we were kept awake by an adjacent university hall of residence and it's a good 30 minute walk from the town centre. Free off street parking right next to your unit is a bonus in a city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
62
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

On arrival the manager pointed out that my booking was actually for the previous night, whoops on my part. He had been concerned for our well-being when we didn't arrive and (I suspect) turned down bookings that night.
Having graciously overlooked my mistake he allocated us a bigger room only slightly dearer than my on-line booking. The room was attractive, spacious, spotless and well equipped. The advice given on key sightseeing spots was very helpful, adding to our enjoyment of Dunedin.
A tip - don't trust the weather when walking out to dinner - take a brolly, even in January

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly helpful hosts who went out of their way to help. The accommodation was excellent and the room was serviced each day to an amazing standard. The location is good and close to the museum and an easy walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Well located and prompt reception staff were the highlights of this hotel. The beds were comfortable and it the rooms had some character which was nice. Basic kitchen facilities so don't plan to do anything other than re-heat a pre-prepared meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for a night on our way through to Manapouri. Lovely place. We had a friend travel with us so we chose the with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms which was fantastic. Easy walk into town and really helpful managers. Easy parking and great tips from managers about what to see and do in Dunedin. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A top class motel that is excellent value. The owners are lovely and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms are large and the facilities are excellent. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room further away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early December 2012.

The rooms are very well appointed and maintained - and very spacious. Everything you could need really.
Parking was also great - a consideration when you are staying in a larger city like Dunedin.
It was probably about a 25 min walk along George St to the 'centre' of town - a fair distance for some perhaps - not a problem to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 858 George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 858 George Street

Address: 858 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 858 George Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
858 George Street Hotel Dunedin
858 George Street Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 858 George Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.