We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central good motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amross Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amross Motel to your Saves list
Amross Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   660 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“central good motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice motel, very central , good full kitchen / tv, lounge , we had spa bath, wifi was good , friendly staff, would recommend , was approx $150 / $160 per night , very good motel on the main st of Dunedin

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Reception friendly, quality window to block out sounds, had room number 1 which appeared to be recently refurbished. Kitchen well catered with quality cookware and crockery. Very large flat screen TV with sky view to relax and watch a movie. Bed was OK.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Just returned home from 5 nights in Dunedin where we stayed in the warmest, cleanest and most comfortable motel we could ever have wished for. Not only was the motel roomy but everything was easy to access and the seating and bed was very comfortable and a good height etc for someone with a disability. My husband loved the big TV and the motel is also close to heaps of very nice restaurants, Dunedin attractions and is extremely quiet for its location. It was end of semester for many of the university students and we saw heaps of them out and about round the town but we never heard any of the noise or partying that other travellers often complain about.
The motel owners were a delightfully welcoming couple and the lady owner couldn't do enough to make sure I was ok and provided an ice pack for me to use after I had a fall and hurt my knee & foot while out attending an event. A great motel for us as an older couple but would suit people of any age and families wanting to have somewhere welcoming to return to after a busy day exploring.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
It's always interesting to meet new travellers, if only for a few days. The students can be a challenge, but they keep the old city young at heart. Thanks for identifing the little things you enjoy, it keeps us focused on the important stuff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I spent a few days at the Amross Motel in Dunedin and found it to be just lovely. The one bedroom apartment I had was newly renovated, spotlessly clean, and extremely well equipped for someone wanting to be self-contained. The motel is located within walking distance of the city centre and is surrounded by many great places to lunch and do coffee. Whilst the motel does not have a dining room, it does enjoy good relationships with surrounding restaurants so room service is not a problem. Sarah was the Duty Manager during my stay and she couldn't have been more helpful. I would highly recommend the Amross as excellent value for money and an all around good place to stay.

Room Tip: Apartment 2 is a newly renovated one bedroom apartment with a good size lounge and a well equipped k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed at this very tidy and clean motel in George street Dunedin .
We found it very cosy and the bed was comfortable and kitchen was well set out with many U tensile and the other half loved the fact that omg we had a big tv he was happy as .
This place is within walking distance of the city and great food places to eat also the Cadbury factory is just around the corner
We will be back
Thank u amross motel u rock

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for 3 nights in this excellent motel. Not being one who particularly relishes staying in motels I was pleasantly surprised. It was roomy, spotlessly clean, had very comfortable beds and no sign of that musty motel smell! The kitchen has everything you need if you want to self-cater however we opted to walk to one of the many nearby restaurants. The owners were very accommodating when we had some minor change of plans due to running into some fog while driving and check in was very welcoming including supplying real milk (a cup of tea was needed) , wifi access and a warm room on arrival. 100% would stay again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Had 3 wonderful nights in this motel for my first trip to Dunedin. The room and everything in it was big + new – large comfy bed, big space, full kitchen facilities, good lighting + new carpet, panel heater, electric blanket, and free wi-fi + parking. Had everything I needed: I was getting ready for my first NZ marathon on 14 Sep so had some special training + food needs. Motel in central location. Great service and extremely helpful hosts. They gave me lots of good tips on fun places I could visit and enjoy nice food before and after my marathon. Made my Dunedin trip really worthwhile. I will choose them again next time I visit Dunedin.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
If we could rank guests you'd be 5 star. Thanks Sam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amross Motel

Address: 660 George Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amross Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY our large rooms located on central George Street. A short stroll to the heart of Dunedin's contemporary restaurant area, the university, hospital or stadium. 50+ SKY, 200MB fast wireless FREE, wireless booster buttons in every room. Restaurant 20m away. Offstreet parking. Great base to explore Dunedin. Units have cooking facilities. Sunny north facing rooms in a quiet location. Tidy, clean, comfortable rooms. Spa baths and various bedding configurations. Friendly hosts. New management at 1st November 2013, come back and expore the changes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amross Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.