We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Motel & Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Esplanade Motel & Apartments
Save
You added Esplanade Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
14 Esplanade | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Auckland NZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in one of the two bedroomed apartments - 205. When we arrived it was obvious the room had been empty for a while as it was arctic chilly and took literally hours to warm up. However once it did (the next day!!) the room retained the heat.

Don't believe the website of this establishment - their spa is a run down outside spa that wouldn't have been cleaned in months, we couldn't find the sauna or the gym but considering the rather dismal upkeep of the rest of the establishment I wouldn't think they would be too flash.

There is nothing wrong with this place however the kitchen and bathroom are quite old and in need of a renovation. It is also expensive for what it is.

The owners however are on a good wicket and they know it due to the lack of apartment style accommodation in Dunedin.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
17
7
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed at the Esplanade with my immediate family because of an extended family occasion. We had the most pleasant stay. The hotel owners made us feel more than welcome, we enjoyed the location beside a breath taking, beach view and it is very well located beside several resturants and the salt water pool. The rooms were clean with all the facitlies you needed. I will definately stay here again when I visit Dunedin next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our accommodation was booked by a third party. We read the reviews and braced ourselves for the possibility of a less than wonderful stay.
What an incredible surprise to arrive and settle into a warm, inviting, clean and spectacularly placed accommodation. The position of this beach house and views are priceless. If you are a sea lover then this is the place for you. This beach house is well equipped and left us wanting for nothing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We travel both within NZ & internationally a lot and can only say we found Esplanade Motels a pleasure to stay in.
We were greeted with a very warm welcome from the owner and shown to our well appointed Sea View unit which had the most wonderful view of the St Kilda beach which is seriously only two steps across the road.
Our unit was spotlessly clean, had a very comfortable bed and good quality bed linen. Heaters in both the living area and the bedroom along with underfloor heating in the bathroom made it a very comfortable winter stay esp as the heaters are not on timers like so many places have now.
Fantastic to have a lockable garage per unit. - we have a large A6 Audi stationwagon which fitted in this garage!
Plenty of restaurants & cafes within metres but we can recommend the adjoining cafe Swell for the friendly service we received along with the amazing meal.
As usual five star travellers I can say we have paid well over double this in other parts of the world for the view alone!
A MUST STAY.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a beach front unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed here recently and my number one regret is that I did not read all the trip advisor reviews beforehand as I most definately would have avoided the place. I recommend all readers do exactly that and look elsewhere. This place is very run down and poorly presented. The first room we were expected to stay in reminded me of visiting my granny in her in her council flat. The only reason we did not go elsewhere is because they already had my card number and would charge me anyway. The place is at least 100% overpriced and when this was pointed out with actual examples of other places we had stayed considerably nicer for half the price, the owner started to talk about him not playing that game and they need to make money to keep the bank happy... he then suggested he was good value when compared to the flash brand new genuinely waterfront place down the road... laughable....
SG Christchurch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawkes bay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

we tried to book for our family of five 'the beach house' aspect of this hotel. When we arrived instead of sea views we got shown to a 'dungeon' that was not at all renovated and had no windows and smelt like moth balls. I couldn't stay as felt so ill.The owners were deceiving and and we asked for something else, as they were going to take a night's deposit $240 whether we stayed or not, we were put in some equally dingy long stay apartments (smaller) and were charged the same ($70 NZD on TOP for a trundler bed for our 3rd child). When explaining our disappointment the owner was unwavering and clearly used to fleecing and bullying tourists out of their money. Felt so sad for Dunedin as this had potential to ruin our visit and left a very bitter taste.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgate
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a magnificent Edwardian house that at some stage about 40 years ago has been cut up into holiday units. Although clean and tidy, the house has not been redecorated since then and the decor is due for a make over. At some later stage a row of holiday apartments has been built across the sea frontage, and from what we could see have quite good views, although it spoils the view from the house.

We were in the main house which is quite dark and a bit cavernous, not helped by the brick red internal colour scheme. On our first night in the middle of a NZ winter it was pretty cold but the second night was much warner even though we had switched off the lethal looking propane heater. The cold really made us appreciate the fireplace and electric blankets.

Although things like the kitchen and bathroom are very dated we actually really enjoyed staying here, I think because the old house has so much character. It is also in a good location close to restaurants, the sea, and not far out of the central city. Each unit has its own parking garage, but watch the concrete balls. It does have free wireless internet. Hopefully someday the old house will be renovated but in the meantime we found it comfortable with a nice sitting room and good beds including bunks for the kids, and would stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esplanade Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Motel & Apartments

Address: 14 Esplanade | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Esplanade Motel & Apartments Hotel Dunedin
Esplanade Motel And Apartments
Esplanade Hotel And Apartments
Esplanade Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.