We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but too noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 97 Motel Moray

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 97 Motel Moray to your Saves list
97 Motel Moray
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Moray Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, but too noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The motel was very central, walking disstance to the Octogon. Great location indeed.
However, we had to put up with a lot of noise through the nights. We were there in April. The guests in the motel were very noisy thru out the two nights we stayed. Probably from the "private" floor. They looked like students staying there long term. Not sure. Parking was limited for a motel this size.

The room was good size but very drafty. We needed to use our bags to seal the huge door gap. Shower/toilet were clean, but the integrated arrangement made the floor all wet from showers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
30
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This motel is very conveniently located near the Octagon, just a very short walk to i site, and everything else. Nearest Count down supermarket is only a little further down Stuart street, close to the Cadbury world.

On arrival, a very cheerful lady Beverly helped me with the easy check in. Rooms are ok, nit luxury style but sufficient. Beds are huge and comfortable, and the kitchenette is handy if u wish to reheat something to eat. Since only a microwave is available, that's all you could do.

The walls of the room are paper thin, noise from neighbor can be heard, I was most disturbed one night, got woken up by people talking loudly with music going on at 4:30am! Another issue I had was with the maintenance of their laundry facilities. Because they also rent out accommodations to students, all the clothes line were full, so i tried to use the clothe dryer, but it was not working!!! I had to use my wit to dry my clothes inside my room with the heater going on at high all night. There were the things that made this motel a little imperfect. But I am sure these are issues they could fix easily, if they put their hearts to it.

Their internet, although not free, is quite cheap, with a $3 flag fall for first 20 mb, then only charge at 1 cent per mb. Despite the hiccups this is still an ok choice for travelers on a budget but want good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Only a few minutes walk to the Octagon. Stayed in the annex, which was very spacious and modern. Clean, except for the carpets, which are well overdue for a clean. Comfortable bed and water pressure was average.
Parking was off road,but could be a problem when real busy. Careful parking on the streets, the parking inspectors are vigilant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Very surprised to find that this Motel was a good as it was. The thing is, on arrival is looks like a hospital gone student accommodation, but don't leave, its not what is seems. As someone else has mentioned, no views, but the room was enormous including the spa bath and separate shower. Clean, modern, and had plunger coffee. In the centre of town, walking distance to everything we needed and short drive to everything else. The reception ladies were efficient and pleasant, but can't say much more as they left us to ourselves and that was perfectly ok.
We'd go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed as a couple, for only one night, but location perfect, close to most attractions, like octagon and the cadbury factory. Rooms cery comfortable and clean. No street noise which was a bonus for where it was located. Friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights in Dunedin and this hotel is right behind the Octagon and it has free parking

It's very central the rooms are big well appointed and clean

The view isn't much it's a car park but did I mention it's central and had free parking

You can walk to all the attractions we went to cadbury world which was fun but you only get the tour of the factory during the week

There is a farmers market by the railway on Saturday morning and a supermarket about two streets away It's a big Countdown

We went to the Fortune Theatre which is about two doors away and saw a great NZ play the Motor Camp which was hilarious

We ate in two restaurants Scotia which is around the corner and amazing Scottish inspired food try the Scottish fry up mmmmm

The Asian and fashion Chinese also down the street was nice

We also did the penisicula tour to see the albatross and the penguins we booked it via the tourist board

The only bad thing I could say about Dunedin was the rudeness of the gallery owner next to the tourist board as we stood by his doorway waiting on our tour he came out and asked us to move as in his words it wasn't a bus stop in the 15 minutes we stood there not one person went in his gallery and I could see why strange how one person can behave in this way oh well

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Excelent location, just a few meters away from the Octagon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 97 Motel Moray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 97 Motel Moray

Address: 97 Moray Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 97 Motel Moray 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience.....Comfort.....Affordability. 97 Motel Moray is the closest motel complex to the Octagon, the centre of Dunedin City, surrounded by great city shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 97 Motel Moray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
97 Motel Moray Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 97 Motel Moray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.