We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin to your Saves list
Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   360 High St | City Rise, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 61 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I needed to book one night in Dunedin for a business trip & was fortunate to choose Grandview B&B.
Arriving late from Christchurch Simon was nice enough to wait up for me to show me around and make me feel at home.. also with leaving early the next morning he was able to prepare the continental breakfast earlier so I had a chance to eat before getting on the road.
All very much appreciated and I would highly recommend Grandview as a place to stay when in Dunedin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
falmouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

First and foremost this is a well run and very warm establishment ran by Simon, his wife Sara, as well as his mother Trish. They also have a delightful girl right now at the toddler stage. The view at the Grandview honeymoon suite, where we stayed, was nothing short of spectacular. It also included a fine bed, spa, and updated period furnishing.

Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, and crumpets. We got great guidance on local attractions and were made to feel truly welcome in their home. You won't find a better deal anywhere for value and quality. John and Carolyn Falmouth, ME USA

Room Tip: The grandview room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked Grandview months ago from Canada, but when we arrived I evidently did NOT note on the booking that we had a shared bathroom....an impossibilty from my wife's point-of-view. Simon, a truly caring fellow allowed that we were not bound by our reservation and offered to find another possibility in Dunedin that would"make you probable one-time stay in Dunedin a pleasant and memorable experience"
He found such, while easing a tense situation with a "cuppa"...a delightful substitution not scant blocks away. at a comparable cost!

Simon was not the least concerned that he had lost several nights lodging, but gained our enduring gratitude. What a Kiwi!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Grandview Bed and Breakfast in Dunedin will not disapoint you, but it will not blow you away.

Unless you have a car, the location is not optimal. The street is a very steep upward slope, you are going to struggle if you have to walk up there with luggages.

The view is great, there is a fully equiped kitchen, the hosts are friendly but there is nothing that shine in that place.

The breakfast could do with more fresh fruits. They do not serve a cooked breakfast, not a problem but the buffet gives you the impression that they are trying to save money with it.

A nice decent place, but not a highlight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked a room with shared bath at ground floor. We were welcome by Simon the host and he was more than helpful to provide us tourist information and places to dine in. We enjoyed the house decor and settings of breakfast, breakfast was well prepared and good choices with good coffee as well. However, our queen bed could be a little bit more comfortable if the four-posted bed shake and create less noise when we make every turn during our sleeps. Other than that room was very clean and decor was great too. Great view over looking Otago Peninsula in the breakfast room and also on the upper deck on mezzanine floor near outside of house. Location was convenient and is walking distance to the Otago Square which is the town centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had booked a one week 'tour of the South Island flying in and out of Queenstown. After a three and a half hour drive from Queenstown, We arrived in Dunedin at 7.30 in the evening. We were greeted by the host Simon who showed us to our room, the aptly named Grandview room with a view over the city of Dunedin.

We stayed two nights here. The room was comfortable with an en-suite bathroom and continental breakfast was provided in the downstairs dining room. Simon the host, was a mine of information not only on Dunedin but had really great tips for the rest of our stay in Christchurch and Queenstown.

The B&B is on High Street, up a fairly steep hill out of the town centre. It takes about 10 minutes to walk down to the CBD and all of its restaurants and bars and about 15 minutes to walk back up. It's a great spot for a base in Dunedin and we would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have en-suite facilities. We stayed in the Grandview room which along with the en-suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here and enjoyed great hospitality from Simon and Trish. We certainly were made to feel at home. The location is great, the rooms lovely and the views grand. Having a kitchen to prepare our dinner is helpful when travelling. Simon is very helpful re sightseeing and giving directions around the Dunedin region and Trish was able to cater to my dietary requirements for breakfast. In fact, nothing seemed too much trouble.

We would recommend Grandview as very good value and will definitely stay there next time we are in Dunedin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin

Address: 360 High St | City Rise, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.