We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B in Dunedin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin

Save Saved
You added Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   360 High St | City Rise, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 58 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice B&B in Dunedin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We slept one light at Grandview, and had a very good time. We had breakfast in the morning and it was really delicious. The hotel is a little bit uphill not too far from city center. The room we has was very cosy and nice. The bathroom is not separate but in the room, which is very nice for a young couple like us. The toilets are behind a small separation screen, which is funny but did not bother us. This is a very quiet & nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
40
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked this room for the spa bath, ensuite facilities, and a view. As noted in other reviews the ensuites are behind partitions, not a separate bathroom, that was OK by us although the main drawback is that the steam from bath/shower fogs up the room a bit. There is the option to used the shared toilet.

The room was nice but being a B&B it doesn't have hotel facilities, so for tea/coffee and fridge/kitchen you need to used the shared facilities downstairs. There is a small TV with basic free channels in the room; the lounge area has a bigger TV with many Sky channels. The lounge area also has a reasonably priced mini-bar on an honesty system.

Was hoping for a better view from the room, but unless you stand at the windows you don't get a view. However there is a deck area with a panoramic view and it would be great to sit out there in the warmer months.

Breakfast is continental only which is fine by us, nothing wrong with the selection, and nice jams and spreads. The family who own it tend to be downstairs in the dining room during breakfast, and any other guests of course, so if you are feeling like a hermit then stick to your room otherwise go downstairs for a chat and some breakky.

Grandview is up a bit of a hill, steeper than it looks on Google Streetview. But fairly close to central Dunedin as the crow flies.

The house is nice and the hosts make sure you have whatever info you need. We got the discounted online booking rate. All things considered for us we'd say it was average (in a good way) stay, perhaps 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stumbling onto this B&B while trawling the net for somewhere to stay in Dunedin my wife and I stayed here for two nights in August.

Simon our host was most helpful and able to make great recommendations on things to do and places to eat. We ate breakfast each morning with the owners and were made to feel very welcome.

The accommodation was comfortable although the spa bath was a touch smaller than I had imagined.

I will be happily recommending this place to anyone else I know travelling to Dunedin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at Grandview for 2 nights as a single traveler in the Olive room. Very quiet and comfortable because it's away from the street and double brick. Bathroom/shower just across the hallway. No view from window but that didn't bother me as I was only there at night. Bed squeekes so probably not good for a couple even though the matress is very comfortable. Adequate continental breakfast, great to have guest kitchenette and sauna. 10 min walk to CBD. Was very comfortable here and highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

After waiting outside in the cold for almost 40 minutes, our greeting was no warmer than the weather. We were told the spa in our room (our main reason for choosing grandview) was broken. No apology was offered for the spa being out of order or being made to wait in the cold. The service continued in this manner for the duration of the stay, causing me to feel uneasy to say the least!
While the room and other facitilies were nice I couldnt relax in the place, I was not at all comfortable using the open plan en suite with just a screen for privacy. I was extremely dissapointed at the service especially after reading so many positive reviews and from speaking to friendly staff prior to my visit, to be honest i would have left after the first day if i could have.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonclausen, Owner at Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
We would never leave a guest waiting out side for 40 minutes, and we always try our best to warmly welcome all guests into our home. We have the jet motor in the Colonial Spa Bath being refurbished, this is part of maintenance that has to be done, we offer all guests that are not happy with this either a discount or free upgrade. Our Colonial Spa Room is advertised as open-plan with photos that clearly pointing this out, I’m unsure why this guest booked a room with this clearly advertised.

We go out of our way to give everyone a warm & comfortable stay (which shows in previous reviews) however it’s obvious some people choose not to be happy & look for problems.

Simon Clausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I'm not really a B&B kind of boy - reminds me of naff holidays in Scarborough and Blackpool as a kid. However, this place was great. After having to put up with a 30-minute grilling by the inept immigration service at Dunedin airport, I wasn't in the jolliest of moods when I arrived. However, the welcome at Grandview and their recommendation that I eat at Speights Brewery soon had me in a much better fettle. Suitably filled, the walk back up the steep hill to the B&B worked off some of the calories, allowing me to rest easy in my room with a view. It was a shame not to get a fry-up the following morning (they are, after all, the only saving grace of most B&Bs) but everything else was spot on - the welcome, the fast (and free) WiFi, the views, the room. Apparently the BBC booked the place out for a month during the Rugby World Cup so if it's good enough for them, it's good enough for me. I'd be very happy to return there if ever I'm back in Dunedin.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Wonderful Victorian B and B with a beautiful View of the Dunedin. Walking distance to town center.
Family sits with guests at breakfast and you feel so very welcome in their home.
Very knowledgeable of the area and knew people to contact to make sure their guests saw what they wanted to see. Planned to stay one night and stayed three. Told us about Natures Wonders Naturally which is a working sheep ranch and also a penguin and fur seal sanctuary. What a find!!

Room Tip: The large room upstairs and 180 degree views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin

Address: 360 High St | City Rise, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.