We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwis Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiwis Nest to your Saves list
Kiwis Nest
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just had an overnighter here to watch the rugby.
Very cosy place to stay, the staff were very helpful and cleaned our room quickly which allowed us to check in early. They also accommodated my request to move their car so that we could park off the street.
Thank you guys!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Kiwis Nest
Kind Regards Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    26
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
29
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a fantastic stay in Dunedin thanks to the host Wendy. She is such a sweet person looking after everybody and really caring about the guests. We can absolutely recommend this place. Great value for the money.
Best wishes from Jaakko and Anni from the cold North

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much Gaye for your review
What a great group of young adults you bought down to stay it was a real pleasure to host them & hopefully will see you next year
Kind Regards
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff were super friendly and helpful - could not be faulted.
The showers are powered by the fire place which goes all day and provides heating to the building. There was also a heater in the room which took a while to heat up due to it's size (we could have done with a smaller room) but got there in the end so was the warm space we needed in chilly Dunedin. Good showers and very clean. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank You Joeleema for your feed back on kiwis nest it is a beautiful old building & the fire is certainly a great feature of kiwis nest especially in our cold winter days.
Safe travels
Regards Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our high school stayed here while in town for the Brain Bee. We had great service from start to end.

Excellent email communication and friendly face to face contact made our group of 6 feel very welcome. The hostel was safe, clean and quiet at night. It was also really nice and warm (important in July!)

Being nice and central it was a great base to explore the town and nice and close to the university. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank You Gaye for your review what a great group of young adults you bought down to stay it was a pleasure hosting the group
Regards Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Kiwis Nest is a nice hostel in central dunedin. It is clean, has multiple kitchens, bathrooms and a lounge. It is managed by Wendy, who is one of the loveliest people I met. She takes great care of the Kiwis nest and all guests, and stands up to drunkards who try to disturb the peace of this place ;)

To summarize, the Kiwis Nest is the first place I'll go to when I'm in Dunedin again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank You Robin for the lovely feedback it is very much appreciated it was lovely to meet you & your dad we did have some good laughs
safe travels
Regards Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Good location, just out of town. Parking is easy and free.
Reasonable size rooms which were clean - although dated.
Good, free wifi.
Nice fire, making the place cosy.
A little noisy at night (we were towards the front of the property).
Good kitchen facilities.
Very good value for money.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback It is always a pleasure to meet such lovely guests Safe travels regards Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What a great stay, what a great time!After the originally planned 3 day stay, I decided to stay on for further 3 weeks. Wendy is a great host. it felt like a home away from home, what ever requests i came up with wendy helped me out. Not only is Kiwis Nest a nice and tidy hostel, but it has a special atmosphere i havent recieved in many hostels in the last 10 months. everything is close by and town is only a few meters away which makes it easy for people without a car to get and see stuff by foot. The kithen facilities are clean and tidy, and in general the hostel is well set up. It is great to see how much thought, love and care Wendy puts into the hostel and her work there. I loved my stay at Kiwis Nest, it was sad leaving but luckily I only moved a couple of blocks away, so I regularily check on my hostel family with a visit and some lovely chats. Thank you very much for your time and patience, every chat and cheerful word when I was upset, sick or desperate on my job search.
Much love and hugs, it makes me sad knowing I wont be able to just pop in and say hi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much Fran for your Review it was a real pleasure to have you come & stay with us
We are certainly going to miss you when you go home for good '
Take care & safe travels
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwis Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwis Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.