We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of light, plenty of most everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwis Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kiwis Nest to your Saves list
Kiwis Nest
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Plenty of light, plenty of most everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We landed at Kiwis Nest because our first choice was booked. Kiwi's Nest is now our first choice. First off , they let us check in when we arrived, 12 noon. Second, our room was a lovely corner unit (queen size bed) with 2 walls of windows. Clean, warm and a reasonable size we were very happy with the price, the location (central) and a parking spot directly beneath our window. Although the wi-fi connection was difficult to maintain, we were less bothered because it was free. With plenty of toilets, showers and kitchens to share (2 of each on our floor), we felt like we were staying in a luxurious home. A bonus was the laundry facilities and the fact that All of our clothes were on the laundry line when we returned 3 hours later. Thank you to the staff for being so kind and welcoming.

Room Tip: We had a private room (double bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks to you all for taking the time to write a review.
We have now sold Kiwisnest ( 10/12/13 ), Jacky, Steve and Nicky will continue along with the new owners. Best wishes to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    26
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
29
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just a night- the room was fantastic with a large tv and a sink in the room. The house is a maze- but plenty of kitchens so I imagine it doesn't get too crowded. I was impressed with how clean our room and the house was- sometimes with older buildings it can be hard- but they have a great team of workers who do a wonderful job. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Reception /Housekeeper at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you and appreciate your review. We do our best to please our guests and make them welcome.

Thanks again and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked the family room and loved it. Basic and clean! Perfect for a family of 4 for the weekend! Close to city, not too noisy ;) the kitchen was well stocked and very clean! Unfortunately we parked off street and s.o. broke off the little mirror of the side wing :(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Reception /Housekeeper at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for the review. We appreciate it. Hopefully, next time you will have better fortune with mirrors. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is one of the best backpackers/hostels that I have stayed at in New Zealand. It is a cute old style house that feels really warm and homelike inside. As soon as we arrived we were checked in and shown around by a very friendly guy who works there (I forget his name.) He seemed to nearly always be around with a friendly greeting when we were going in and out of the hostel and this really added to the "homey" feeling. We stayed in an ensuite room with two twin beds and it was really nice and comfortable, including a refrigerator of our own, and the bathroom seemed really new and clean. I was surprised at how nice the facilities were for the amount that we had paid. I would definitely stay here again and I would have loved to have been able to stay longer and explore Dunedin more.

Room Tip: totally worth it to get a room with an ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Reception /Housekeeper at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope all our guests enjoy their stay and welcome all feedback that will help us to continue to provide the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting Dunedin, unfortunately we didn't book so couldn't get in a dorm room however we got a decent double at the back with its own kitchenette, TV and there is free WiFi so it suited us well. Good, clean bathroom and kitchen facilities. There was a few kitchens around the house so it wasn't too busy whilst cooking. Some free parking spaces and was about a 10 minutes walk to the CBD, so this was handy. Only downside was the curtains were very see-through so it was very bright in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Reception/Housekeeper at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at Kiwis Nest with a large school group for four nights.
Rooms were comfortable and clean and there was plenty of hot water for showers .
The staff were helpful from the outset - arranging rooms to suit our needs, answering queries and taking receipt of our large grocery order.
There was someone in attendance at all times and staff went out of their way to assist in anyway possible.
Thanks Steve, Nicki,Jacqui and Jeremy for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The self contained apartment next to the kitchen is excellent if you are cooking for a large group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, have passed on your thanks to Steve, Jacqui and Nicky.
Also well done on gaining a Silver medal in your competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very clean and friendly, lovely atmosphere. The only drawback was groups of people walking up the street talking very loudly, very late into the night, woke up several times from that. If you are a light sleeper, look for a room that faces away from the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for you review, we have been double glazing windows as time permits. I think your stay may have coincided with student re-orientation week and the " Paint Party" at the new Stadium. Sorry for the noisy night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwis Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwis Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.