We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwis Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kiwis Nest to your Saves list
Kiwis Nest
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very pleasant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our first port of call on our Southern NZ journey, we booked into a double with ensuite. And it certainly provided - all that you could expect from a motel, without the added price. The room was right on the end, with a screen door opening onto the front gate. Came with its own fridge, shower and toilet, as well as kettle and coffee machine. We barely needed to leave the room to explore the rest of the house! Everything was toasty warm in the evening as the heated towel rack in the bathroom came on automatically (linked to main fire, I believe). Overall, extremely comfortable and at a reasonable price. I'd visit again! Bit noisy at night, because we were by the street and it was a saturday night - the building is up the student end of town. Easy walk into octagon and also gardens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks very much for your positive review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    38
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
48
51
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a unit room which was really comfy and loads of facilities. Location wises it's a easy walk into town. Great value for money and would def stay again. All the staff were really friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I often stay at The Kiwis Nest. Rooms are well appointed, warm, and clean. Common lounge and kitchen areas. Limited Wifi is provided daily. The location makes it easy to get around with bus access right outside. Gardens, pubs, bookstores, galleries and the university are all nearby.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are lighter/brighter, though those off the side street are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We always stay at Kiwi Nest when my partner and I are in Dunedin. A great deal for the location and the place is always extremely clean! The staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended if you are looking for a quiet, cozy place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Lynda was super helpful answering my email queries before my visit, especially after I realized I requested the wrong dates.

Upon arrival, I was greeted warmly, and given phone messages that were left for me. Steve was really helpful with suggestions about the city, Uni, and side trips. I felt very comfortable staying in the women's dorm (I got lucky and had it all to myself).

The toilets, showers, and bedrooms were very clean and when someone made a mess of one of the toilets, it was cleaned promptly. An extra bonus was access to a washer and dryer.

I liked that there were all types of people staying at Kiwis Nest while I was there. There were 20-something backpackers, families, 30-something travelers, and senior couples. Booking unseen I was worried that I'd be in an over-crowded, cramped space but that simply wasn't the case.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you. will pass on your Regards to Lynda & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've stayed alone at the Kiwis Nest before and this time I stayed with my husband. I enjoyed my stay in 2008 and just as much again this time. The location is great, it's cosy and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and there are always interesting people to meet and talk to if you want to be social. The facilities are great and though there were road works on the street outside this time, parking was still made available for guests. I'll return to the Kiwis Nest next time I'm in Dunedin and needing a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you. Sorry about the roadworks, we have had to endure 8 months of trucks and diggers, after our local Council accidentally cut into a water main, and then tried to fix it ?!?! ( May 2012 ) BUT we now have a brand new road and just in time for Christmas.........Hmmmmmmmmm........... " ya gotta laugh ".. all the best for you and your family over the festive season. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hostel is easy to get to- just down George Street from the Octagon, and walkable from the intercity bus stop. It's near the university and city bus stops. I got there in the mid afternoon and had to ring the bell for the office a couple of times before someone came. I got a private room- at a reasonable price- which was small but had a comfy bed, towel, big windows, and warm. The kitchens are a bit weird- there's a small kitchen upstairs with the fridge down the hall and around the corner, with a "full" kitchen outside on the deck. They give you 50mb of internet free per day, but extra internet costs $5 per 50mb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments.......we have all the cooking kitchens outside the main house, to keep the cooking smells out.. and the smaller inside ones inside, just for tea, coffee, microwave etc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwis Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#5 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwis Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.