We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Regis Dunedin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Regis Dunedin to your Saves list
Park Regis Dunedin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Princes St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Mercure Hotel Dunedin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Apart from not being able to find car parking space at the start everything else was great. Distance from theatre within walking distance, room service was prompt and staff super polite and friendly. No problem with traffic or street noise.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Park Regis Dunedin, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Viviendavidson,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Park Regis Dunedin,

It must have been frustrating at the start of your stay when you were not able to find the car park however I am glad that the rest of your time with us appears to have made up for it. It is always fantastic when the team and I are able to read such appreciative feedback from our guests.

Thanks again for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again next time you are in Dunedin.

Kind Regards,

Sally O'Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    40
    18
    12
See reviews for
18
58
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service, and comfortable to work from the room for a couple of hours... room was very spacey with the only downfall being the noise of lift in the am hours...
Location wise, you can't really get more central than what this Hotel offers.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Park Regis Dunedin, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Glenn B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Park Regis Dunedin.

If you do return to stay with us on a future visit- which of course we sincerely hope!- please contact us ahead of time so that a room away from any potential lift noise can be allocated for you.
Otherwise I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. The 5 stars you have awarded us for rooms, location and service are very much appreciated.

Thanks again Glenn B and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally O'Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location. ideal for a business trip. My room was on the top floor, which was a bit difficult to carry suitcases up and down since the lift does not go to the top floor. Clean, comfortable, but basic.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Park Regis Dunedin, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Park Regis Dunedin.

It is great that you found the hotel to be ideal for the requirements of your trip and met your expectations in terms of cleanliness and comfort. It is correct that the few rooms on the 7th floor are only accessible by stairs and I apologise for this inconvenience. The heritage status of the building does mean that there are limitations on the changes we are permitted to make to the structure of it which includes the extension of the lift shaft to that floor.
We do explain this on check in, offer and expect to provide luggage assistance to all guests and would not allocate rooms on this floor to any guests who may have walking difficulties.

Thank you once again for your feedback and sharing your concerns.

Kind Regards,

Sally O'Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is excellent, all in walking distance.
The overall Staff customer service was great, friendly bunch & forthcoming.
Heaters were provided for chilly nights! the beds provided a rejuvenating nights sleep. Excellent beds with linen.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Park Regis Dunedin, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear poplap9,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Park Regis Dunedin.
It is so nice to hear that you had such a good night's sleep with us and felt that the hotel is conveniently located and the staff are accommodating.

Thanks so much again- we hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Sally O'Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room pleasant and very clean. Staff interaction was always friendly and helpful. A minor maintenance issue dealt with in an efficient and generous manner, as was a wake up call and ordering a taxi. My only criticism was street noise but that is hardly the fault of the hotel & I know the night I was really tired I slept through most of it!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Park Regis Dunedin, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Patricia S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Park Regis Dunedin.

It is wonderful to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and that your needs appear to have been met- thank you also for awarding us 5 stars for cleanliness.

The next time you come to stay please do contact us in advance of your arrival so that we can allocate you a nice quiet room away from any potential street noise and enable you to have the best night's sleep possible.

Kind Regards,

Sally O'Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice hotel but lacks the charm and finer details it should to make the in house experience one to remember or recommend. We were told abo we the restaurant for breakfast or dinner. The car parking option was unacceptable, the personal one on one service is missing. A shame for a hotel that could offer so much more.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Park Regis Dunedin, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear John C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Park Regis Dunedin.

Ordinarily we receive rather positive comments about the customer service we provide as you will see from many other reviews, I do apologise if we dropped the ball on the occasion of your stay and it would be helpful to know what happened here.
I am also unsure what was unacceptable to you about the car parking options we provide however it does seem that although you found the hotel to be nice, you were not pleased with your stay overall for which I can only apologise.

If it would be an option for you elaborate on your concerns I would welcome the feedback. Please do not hesitate to email me at gmprdu@parkregishotels.com if you would like to do so.

Kind Regards,

Sally O'Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A welcome experience after a rather disappointing hotel in Queenstown. The room was very clean, quiet, warm and comfortable - and very reasonably priced. The hotel is nicely situated for many of Dunedin's attractions.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyLOConnor, General Manager at Park Regis Dunedin, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Norma H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Park Regis Dunedin.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and decided you would share your kind comments.
I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in the South Island.

Kind Regards,

Sally O'Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Regis Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Regis Dunedin

Address: 310 Princes St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Mercure Hotel Dunedin)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Regis Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage listed Park Regis Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Park Regis Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Park Regis Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Regis Dunedin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.