We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Dunedin City to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
NZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

great hotel...we had adjoining rooms for a family of 5. Worked out beautifully. Centrally located with good amenities.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    192
    64
    12
    7
See reviews for
79
162
25
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

We stayed here for 1 night in Feb and were impressed. For the price this hotel was good quality. Quite new looking and very clean! Very central too so we could walk everywhere. We would certainly stay here again....

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - big clean rooms, comfy beds, beautiful view of the harbour. Staff were friendly, location was convenient. We were only here one night, but we wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2007

Just back from New Zealand. Had a wonderful stay for four nights at this hotel. Huge, clean rooms with great views & variety of TV channels. Friendly and helpful staff. Deal included continental breakfast which was good. Ideal location - could walk to most sites of interest, including ocagon area and casino. Cost $10 per night for valet parking. Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — location and room size
  • Tips/Secrets — Look out for the weekend deals
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

Great hotel. Very large rooms. Two double beds to a room. Modern decor. Television has a few bonus channels -> discovery, movie channel....etc. Location is smack bang in the city centre - close to all the shops. Shampoo and bath gel provided was poor - it stank!
Rooms use electronic cards to open. Comfy bed - had a really good night sleep. Breakfast buffet was yummy.

  • Liked — nice rooms, central to shops, extra tv channels
  • Disliked — lifts can be slow
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2006

10 years ago Dunedin was a dump so I approached my stay there with trepidation. So I was surprised and delighted by this new hotel. Its location is superb, its service is friendly and prompt. You'll be disappointed if you go expecting a true luxury hotel. 10 years ago this was the office block for the Tax Dept so its basic architecture is functional and the style of furnishings fairly minimalist. We had a large, light filled, L shaped room on the 7th floor which overlooked a cathedral on one side and the sound and the container terminal on the other. The views were interesting by day and attractive by night. There were 2 queen size beds, a modern bathroom, quality furnishings and nice touches like coffee bags. There are internet connections in all rooms and coin operated computers downstairs. The room service, dining room and bar food choices are excellent and the bar is an attractive area. The breakfast which was included in our tariff was well above average. If you don't want to eat at the hotel turn right and walk to the Octagon with all its choices or turn left to the Casino and all the restaurants around it. You can walk to most major tourist spots in the city and if you have a car there is valet parking for $10 a night.

  • Liked — Location and very pleasant staff
  • Disliked — No bath
  • Tips/Secrets — ATMS and restaurants short walk away at Octagon
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs,Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

We arrived in Dunedin and were booked in somewhere else but decided to go elsewhere after seeing the rooms available. The owner of that hotel recommended the Scenic Circle! Although it does not look much from the outside it turned out to be a clean and friendly hotel. It is aimed mainly at the business market and the accomodation reflected that. Food was, at best, average and service was perfunctory. However, we would not rush back to the hotel or Dunedin...

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: Corner Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.