We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Dunedin City to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Scenic staff are very respectful and professional. Our room was everything we needed and the beds would be the most comfortable I have experienced anywhere. Well located to the Octagon and well within walking distance to shopping and a good stroll to the stadium. Would definately go back.

Room Tip: We had a room with two double beds. No real veiw. (we weren't there for the veiw.) Comfotable ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Suzy P,

Thanks so much for your positive feedback regarding our staff, location and the most comfortable beds you have experienced anywhere - truly wonderful praise and our staff team will be very thankful. We hope to host you again in the future.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    192
    64
    12
    7
See reviews for
79
162
25
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northern Beaches, Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not a bad hotel but the beds are a bit odd in that they have a doona over the top in an attempt to immitate a pillow top mattress but are a little too soft in reality. The shower in my room was like a dribble and basically unusable. I did ask for it to be looked at on the first of my 3 days and a guy came and looked, agreed something was wrong and nothing was ever done to rectify it.
Location wise it's not bad and only a short walk to the shopping area and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear fishcuit,

Thank you so much for posting feedback during your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not like the bedding topper - it is actually filled with goose-feathers - the same as the bedding underlay - and we have had many many good comments about our new goose-feather bedding - however because of the goose feathers it is very soft and I can understand if you found it too soft.

I was very concerned to read that your shower was only a dribble - 1) - because as you pointed out a staff member came and assessed your shower and then nothing else was done, and 2) - because thiis is a very rare incident i.e. we get praised highly that our shower water pressure is nice and strong on a regular basis, therefore this is highly unusual. I do apolgise about that and will most certainly follow up - if at all possible would you please be able to e-mail your room number - or name and date of stay to dunedin.city@scenichotels.co.nz attention Greg, so that I may personally check the shower pressure etc in that room. Many thanks and kind regards.

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I arrived earlier than expected at 10am and was able to go straight into my room.
The view over the city and out to the harbour from my 7th floor room was amazing.
Fantastic inner city location, easy walking distance to places of interest.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the food from The Princes on Dowling Restaurant downstairs was consistently amazing.
A pleasure to be a guest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Mikejgribb,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your very positive review - all the staff will be delighted you have commented on them being polite and friendly, and the kitchen team will also appreciate your kind comments regarding food in our Princes on Dowling Street Restaurant being consistently amazing. Thanks again and we look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stay here on a regular basis due to the most comfortable beds and easy access to the central city. The staff are always welcoming, helpful and polite. The rooms themselves are of good size and the bathrooms are clean with great water pressure in the showers. An overall comfortable warm modern room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Janice P,

As a regular guest who continues to return back to us to stay, we are thrilled that you have taken the time to post positive comments about our welcoming and polite staff, most comfortable beds in good size rooms and good water pressure in showers - it is very much appreciated so thank you very much and we look forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Don't let the somewhat unappealing exterior of this hotel put you off. The staff were all helpful and polite, our family room was spacious and as other reviewers have commented the beds are super comfy. Good water pressure in the shower. We stayed on the third floor for two nights and could not hear any traffic noise. The valet parking service was efficient and reasonably priced. We didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked good and the prices fair. The location was excellent. I would stay here again if we return to Dunedin.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear verygenki,

Thank you very much for posting positive feedback and highlighting our polite and helpful staff, super comfy beds in spacious rooms, as well as reasonably priced valet car-parking service. These comments are very much appreciated and we do hope you can return soon again.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here happily for three nights with two interconnecting rooms. The hotel itself is well located in easy walking distance of the central city attractions and the Octagon area, where we generally dined. Rooms were a good size, light with modern furnishings and were clean. The showers had good water pressure, and I particularly liked that you could open the windows rather than having to rely on the air conditioning. The only minor niggle we had was parking which was reliant on valet parking by hotel staff rather than self parking. We had occasional issues waiting for staff to be available to collect the car, but nothing too serious. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear jilch,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post positive feedback noting our spacious rooms and good shower water pressure - it is much appreciated and we hope to host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

great location, very nice rooms, great size. the save was very nice. the breakfast was very good. the beds were very very good. we stayed two nights here and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in dunedin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear MattTravel05,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post the positive feedback regarding our location, nice large rooms and great breakfast - we really appreciate it and hope to host you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: Corner Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.