We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lunch special" is great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miga Korean BBQ Restaurant

Miga Korean BBQ Restaurant
4 Hanover Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
477 4770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 211 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean, Tapas
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Welly, NZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Lunch special" is great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We dropped by for Miga's $10 lunch special on our last full day in Dunedin. Family of four, so we tried different dishes - beef, squid, baby octopus, pork, all served with rice and we were also given some small side-dishes of seaweed, turnip (preserved kimchi style) and some pickled items. Food was fine, portions generous, much more than we'd get in Wellington for that price. If you are on a low-salt diet, be aware that Korean cooking condiments are on the saltier end of the scale. Service was excellent. Young owner/manager was keen, helpful and attentive. Happy with our lunch, would consider going back next time we are in Dunedin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    16
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant. Great find in Dunedin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We went here tonight and I liked it so much that I thought I should write straight away. Richard the owner served us himself tonight and was a great host and have us excellent tips.

We had the traditional meals, octopus and pork chilli sizzle was awesome and the hot pot soups tasted great.

All I can say is we will have to go back and try other dishes!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great kimchi pancake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were suppose to go to Rainforest but either the owner went on vacation or the restaurant closed down. So we settled with Miga which was just next to Rainforest. No regrets. We ordered kimchi pancake. It was huge, crunchy, and excellent taste. We also had korean bbq which was good too! The resto served many side dishes which can really fill-up your hunger.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent and interesitng food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Eleven adults and three small boys have a really good banquet here on Monday. Not being experienced Korean foodies we ordered the set menu and it was good and varied. The service was attentive and polite if a little stretched at times.

A fun night out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner with whanau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Highly recommend this restaurant. Service was excellent. Owner/Operator served us which was a nice touch. Every part of the meal was explained (and thoroughly enjoyed!). Well worth every cent we spent PLUS it's BYO if you choose so can't go wrong! Thank you for delivering a wonderful experience. Note to those who enjoy Korean BBQ...Shabu Shabu is separate so maybe someone should order that and the other person the BBQ...just saying :) ;)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miga Korean BBQ Restaurant also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Miga Korean BBQ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miga Korean BBQ Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.