We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but avoid "O" week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cable Court Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cable Court Motel to your Saves list
Cable Court Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   833 Cumberland Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Harpenden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value but avoid "O" week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The motel was clean, tidy and very good value. The room was large, sky TV on offer and nicely furnished. I selected it to be near to my daughter's flat but that was my mistake as the motel is situated in the middle of the student flat area and is a place to be avoided during Orientation week. The noise from the numerous parties in the vicinity made if difficult to avoid an interrupted nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

my group stayed in a one-bedroom and lounge unit with an adjoining one bedroom to accommodate the 4 of us. The units were absolutely clean and the kitchen was stocked with tea and coffee fixings. The beds were comfortable but the bar across the street caused a bit of night time noise. Don't stay on the street end and you won't deal with that.

The location is good as there are eating establishments in the near area and the museum is within easy walking distance. The only negative was the front desk hostess who was perfunctory and not very helpful, which was unusual for a Kiwi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

When we were here the hotel was undergoing some renovations, but this was done without any inconvenience for the guests.
The room was of nice size and clean. It is just a 15 minutes walk to the town centre, where you can find all the shops and restaurants . Nearly in front of the hotel is the campus of the University. You don't like to walk ... MacDonald and KFC are just around the corner

Room Tip: Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Do the boattour with the Monarch directly from the oldharbour of Dunedi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This motel looks lovely from the outside, and the reception area is modern and tasteful, but we were very let down by our room its self.
For a start, first impression was the staff, who were brittle, unfriendly and brisk in their approach. This was quite a shock to us, as we are used to encountering helpful, friendly folk in the hospilatility industry. The bathroom in our unit was very damp, smelling strongly of meldew, and in dire need of an upgrade. There was very poor cleaning in the entire unit, with visable black dirty bits ingrained into the corners and into the bathroom flooring. there was a very uncomfortable bed, with terrible pillows, and difficultilty getting to sleep at night was made worse by very close proximity to main street traffic noise. Although a non~smoking room, the room smelled strongly of cigerette, and upon opening the sliding door to the tiny balcony, we found discarded cigerette butts, along with the thick dirt, leaves and bits of rubbish that dont appear to have been cleaned away at all. A very unsatisfactory presentation overall.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Adequate size room. Standard motel configuration. Bathroom needs upgrading, Kitchenette good. Pillows on bed very poor--no support. Communal laundry facilities poor, 2 washers, 2 driers (both domestic size) for over 20 rooms. All windows dripping wet on the inside in the morning. Great food, great prices at the Pub in the next street. I'd probably spend $10-$15 at one of the many other accommodation places close by if I was staying more than one night.

Room Tip: The pictures on the website can hide many small deficiencies. Kitchen good with microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at Cable court for 2 nights. Nice motel. Clean except the bathroom needs a major reno.
Very conveniet to all the places we wanted to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the worst of the 20 places we stayed at during our stay in New Zealand. The rooms were adequate, but the bathroom very unpleasant. The rooms had not been well cleaned and the public areas appeared to be very neglected.
To compound the problems this motel is situated on the main road through Dunedin, with student accommodation surrounding it. While we were there the noise of the students' partying went on until about 3am causing major disturbance.
The owners may be able to upgrade the very dated accommodation, and renew the very tired furnishings, but they can do nothing about the surrounding environment.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cable Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Court Motel

Address: 833 Cumberland Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cable Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cable Court Motel. We are located in a prime postition in central Dunedin, one block away from Dunedin Hospital and University of Otago. A short easy walk away are the Botanical Gardens, Supermarkets and vibrant downtown Dunedin. We offer warm, sunny and newly refurbished studio, one bedroom and family units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cable Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Court Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.