We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vantage point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Signal Hill

Signal Hill
Signal Hill Road, Dunedin, New Zealand
03 474 3300
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 38 Attractions in Dunedin
Type: Lookouts, Cultural
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good vantage point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

They say it's the best view over Dunedin and I can't argue with that. We drove (time and tired legs dictated this) and you emerge at the top to an unexpectedly fabulous panoramic view.

There seemed to be an awful lot of cars parked there given the quietness of the approach road, and an unexpected number of people dressed rather awkwardly in dresses, jackets (in many cases matched with jeans) and ties. Turns out there was a wedding about to take place, but we left before it started so as not to intrude. The sandwiches were getting toasted in the sun.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best spot in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A great view of Dunedin! I would definitly recommend taking a look from the top of this place. I walked from town and weaved my way up the BMX tracks to the top which was an adventure in itself! Its quite steep in places and I decided to walk the longer way back down via the road

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
“make sure the weather is good before you go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

From the center of town on 'George', it takes about 20 to 25 minutes to drive the winding roads to Signal Hill. What a view not to be missed. Bring a jacket and a scarf, it can get very windy and cold so suddently. Make sure you camera is working, because the view od Dunedin and hill surending the city is absolutly georgeous.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A surprising hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A narrow twisty road takes you out of town up the hill to amazing views over the city and the sea - achingly open and spacious and airy. Pleasant short walks from the car-park, with seats and shelter if required.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Great Vantage Point to view Dunedin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just after leaving Baldwin Street, you take a left turn & head up in to the hills arriving at Signal Hill which looks back on to Dunedin City. A great lookout.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signal Hill also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signal Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.