We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation for a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel on Carroll

Save Saved
You added Motel on Carroll to your Saves list
Motel on Carroll
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel on Carroll
10 Carroll Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Trinity Court Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 54 hotels in Dunedin
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great accomodation for a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We decided to visit the coldest place in NZ during the coldest time of the year! A bit crazy but 10 Trinity motel catered our tired bodies and gave us great advice on other places to explore. Service was amazing and the rooms are warm and comfortable. It was the only accomodation that offered a family room (we are 6) at an unbeatable price! I loved the fact that it is a few minutes walk from the Octagon as we got to enjoy some family time while walking and the bonus of shedding a few kilos. Will definitely return and reccommend this fabulous motel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We chose to stay at Trinity Court as it is just one block away from Dunedin's fencing club where this year's U15 & U17 Nationals were being held.

The accomodation was 'cheap and cheerful' and of course very conveniently located from our point of view: 2 minutes to the tournament venue and about 10 minutes stroll to the Octagon. It has a large lounge/dining room at the end of the motel, which would be useful for larger groups wanting to eat together.

The manager was really helpful - extra milk and a roll of duct tape we needed to prepare foils for the competition appeared in our room after I asked him where I could get some!

The first night was very quiet, the next two less so as the motel filled with lots of other fencers. The walls are not sound-proof.

The motel offers breakfast, although we choose to make our own or eat at the great cafe beside the motel. Lone Star is just across the road for evening meals and there's a great takeaway pizza place - Momma Mia Pizza - 5 minutes walk away at 74 Crawford St (it doesn't do deliveries). A good selection of both vegetarian and meatlovers pizzas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

After reading the positive reviews we were quietly optimistic about staying here and we didn't have too much choice as everywhere else we had tried were fully booked, because of the Rugby. We were greeted by the manager who was charming, friendly and gave us lots of useful information about what to do and see locally. It is really hard to be critical when someone is so nice to you but like all my reviews I believe in being honest and describing my personal view on a property.
The room was dated and looked more like a student bedsit than a motel room. It had a tiny kitchenette with fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle etc. but had use of a big communal room and kitchen.
We had a large LCD TV which had the basic channels no SKY, heater. Wifi was unfortunately chargeable at $10 for 500mb which was cheaper than some other places, but would have been better if free.
The bathroom was horrible the sink was minute and difficult to use, the shower floor was “soggy” It felt like you were going to fall through it but it was probably the floor coating separating from the actual floor, the manager said that someone had flooded the bathroom and he was waiting for a quiet period to sort it out.
We were very grateful of the heater as the room felt cold.
The bed was soft and not particularly comfortable for me.
The worst thing about this place was inadequate soundproofing as we were able to hear TV, showers talking from other rooms and I was disturbed on numerous occasions during the night by noise from inside and the road outside, when I mentioned this to the manager he blamed the Rugby!, however the road noise is evident pretty much all the time.
The location of Trinity Court was ok but not great, however many of the other motels are nearer the university at the other end of town which is just as far from the centre and most are on busy roads.
It was a fair walk to the intercity bus terminal and the rail station, we ended up getting a taxi as it was raining when we arrived and it cost $10.
I suppose this is what you get in NZ for $99 per night but for the same money in the UK you get a lot more.
We were able to leave our bags after checking out which was really good.
This was our least favourite place we stayed during our 8 weeks in NZ.
In summary really nice manager, but not a great place to stay, especially if you like a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

our stay at the trinity court motel, was quiet, but at the same time it was awesome! the manager there was soo friendly, the lounge there was so relaxing, the rooms were nice ans spacious, and everything you needed, was there. Its really nice there, im looking forward to going back there again.

Room Tip: rooms on your left when you come in the entrance is nice and spacious,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Spending a month travelling around New Zealand for the Rugby World Cup meant we were in Dunedin for 2 matches (to support England). The location of Trinity was great - quiet location with private covered car park yet easy walking distance to shops and restaurants etc. A Lone Star restaurant across the road so no need to go into town for the evening if feeling lazy.
We were greeted by Tissa with a warm friendly welcome and given loads of local information as we were travellers new to the city. He is also very knowledgable about the areas of interest around South Island. He was a star and helped us park our campervan too.
Our room was not big but had everything in it - tv with several channels, heater, hair dryer, equiped kitchenette, a sofa and a very comfy bed, and spotlessy clean.
There is also a lounge with books, tables to eat at and cookers if you wanted to prepare and eat a meal. Also has internet access.
It's not a 'pretty' motel but that really doesn't matter when the service and facilities etc are so good.
I reccommend this motel and would stay there again if we ever went back to NZ.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

having look for accommodation for the world cup and there being
a shortage ,we were very happy to find the trinity court .we booked on line and
the replay was prompted .On arrival tissa the owner was more than helpful the
car park was of street and safe .the rooms were clean and warm,
there is a full kitchen and internet, and with in ten minutes walk of town
its was ideal ,would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

We booked rooms here for our visit to Dunedin for the Rugby World Cup. Tissa was extremely prompt and helpful in communications and gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived. He was always very helpful during our stay. The accommodation was good value for money. It was warm, clean and comfortable and the location very convenient. There is secure on site car parking if needed. There is also an excellent cafe on the corner of the street which serves a wonderful breakfast and The Lone Star bar/restaurant across the road with very friendly staff serving meals until late evening.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel on Carroll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on Carroll

Address: 10 Carroll Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Trinity Court Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 54 hotels in Dunedin
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel on Carroll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel on Carroll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.