We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic blue cod shame about the cheese rolls ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Southern Cross to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 High Street | corner Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic blue cod shame about the cheese rolls ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lovely older lovely refurbishment. Pass on the cheese rolls in the cafe which are an awful example of a quant southern culinary icon. Soggy. Tasteless flattened lumps of breaded goo. However the blue cod in the main restaurant is a star dish. Fresh. Dusted in cajun spice atop of tasty smashed potatoes with a delecate tomato salsa. Memorable. Beds are great and staff are really helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We're glad you found our blue cod to be a star dish, the beds great and our staff really helpful. I also appreciated your feedback regarding the cheese rolls please be rest assured that we have rectified this issue going forward :-)

Warm regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    151
    56
    12
    8
See reviews for
55
130
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Usually I stifle an inner groan when choosing accommodation in Dunedin, because as 4-5 star hotels go in this Southern most major city in NZ, they are…um, ok. So I was presently surprised at the quality of the Southern Cross. Although in need of a bit of a decorators face-lift, the rooms are spacious, clean and the beds are luxurious. The bathroom is a bit small and poky (we stayed in a room with 2 double beds) - but all the ameniities are thoughtful and generous. The one hour free wi-fi is a nice compromise to unlimited free vs. user pays for every minute. The staff are clear, polite, efficient and informative. In keeping with the flavor of Dunedin, they are not efficiously friendly or gushingly over-bearing. They more or less reflect the character of the Mainland. I would wholly recommend the Breakfast buffet - a cut-above most in-house fooderies. The food is fresh (!) tasty with emphasis on fresh breads, fruits and variety of teas and coffees. Excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: As you are inner city, any room will do. Higher up you can see further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your great review. It's lovely to get such postive feedback for the hotel and Dunedin. I was especially delighted to hear your thoughts on our food offering as well as the thoughtful comments regarding our staff, so thank you for that and the constructive feedback, we're so happy that your experience with us was a pleasant surprise.

Thanks again and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here as part of an upscale, small-group tour of both Islands. Unlike the smallish, boutique-like, service-oriented hotels that were the norm, this was right in the middle of town and a "high rise". But it was convenient, clean and comfortable, with a reasonably friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant was good for both dinner and breakfast. We would consider staying here, should we come this way again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for you comments regarding your recent stay, we really appreciate your feedback and to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour around New Zealand.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in Dunedin one day.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel is our third scenic hotel on a trip to New Zealand. Paihia , was fine , Napier was excellent, but the room the assigned us in this hotel was less than 120 sq. feet including, a bathroom. We've been in hotels all over Canada, U.S. Ireland Britain, and Europe and have never had a smaller room. I know they must exist but usually not if your spending over $10.00 a night. If you go to this hotel check the room before you sign in. It is convenient to downtown, but so is the local jail.

Room Tip: Don't take anything ending in 84
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

It is with great regret that I read your response in regards to your recent stay with us, especially considering that you have stayed with Scenic Hotels nationwide, which we very much appreciate. We pride ourselves on providing an experience and level of service that will exceed our guest's expectations however unfortunately it seems clear that on this occasion those were not met. On behalf of myself and the team at the Southern Cross I do apologise that you have come away with this feeling and I am sorry that there was nothing that we were able to do to rectify this.
We have since measured some of our smaller rooms, which measure to a total of around 193 square feet at the lower end and should you ever be in Dunedin again we hope that you will afford us the opportunity to allocate you into one of our more spacious rooms so that you may enjoy a more comfortable experience.

Warm regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way back up north - loved the value for money as well as the great location! Friendly staff, decent breakfast, comfy bed, GREAT curtains... Can't get much better! The fridge was a little loud at times but apart from that everything was excellent. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you kindly for your great post and feedback of your stay with us. Great to hear that your stay could not have gotten much better and that you would definitely stay at the Southern Cross again. It's fantastic to hear and we really appreciate all your comments.

Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A wonderful experience starting with reception to the well appointed room with the most comfortable bed we've ever shared through to the fantastic breakfast. Free wi-fi was a bonus.We would not hesitate at staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your gracious review of the Southern Cross. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience staying with us and found the room and breakfast fantastic and our beds the most comfortable! Great to hear :-)

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back at Scenic.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed for 1 night for business. The hotel is good for Dunedin which really lacks anything special in top quality hotels. The room was good with small bathroom. Dinner from the restaurant was good and I really enjoyed the room service breakfast. The service is also good. However, thin doors with gaps under them made it difficult to sleep when people walk through the halls drunk/talking at night--I was woken up at least twice, not good for working the next day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback it is greatly appreciated. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us and the service you received.

We hope to welcome you back to the Southern Cross Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Address: 118 High Street | corner Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#12 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.