We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sceni Hotel Southern Cross Dunedin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Southern Cross to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 High Street | corner Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Dunedin
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Sceni Hotel Southern Cross Dunedin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Geeat hotel, really conveniently located, conmfortable, well appounted, fantastic staff, and great food.
You even get a little bag to take home you unused toiletries in!
All of which is why I keep going back.
Graeme Purches
TrustPower

Room Tip: Main wing is quieter unless you have a room on an inside wall. The local council has a noisy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Graeme

Thanks so much for posting a review for us, it means so much when one of our longest staying valued regulars can let the world know what we have to offer and why it is you keep returning. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    151
    57
    12
    8
See reviews for
56
130
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We where down for a conference our rooms where lovely.. The staff where helpful and very friendly... The meals where of very high standard.. All in all a great experience and would recommend this Hotel plus you have direct access to the Casino if you want as its inside the complex.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

So glad you enjoyed your rooms and the features of the hotel, we really appreciate all of your complimentary comments and for taking the time to post feedback. Look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind Regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went to Dunedin to see our son and stayed at the Scenic for the 1st time. Great hotel, excellent staff and food, great breakfast and the staff were great dealing with some " rude patrons with bad manners". And like others have stated the bed was so comfy I came home and tried to buy an underlay the same, I just keep thinking out how you just sink into the bed. Great experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you were impressed with the staff. We're thrilled to be able to offer our fantastic new Scenic wide bedding on our Scenic site's Gift Shop should you wish to 'take your bed home with you". Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Good room with an effective heater, and was it needed! The bed and pillows were a bit too soft for my liking but the room was quiet and I slept well. Plenty of character and atmosphere throughout the building. Great breakfast. Good location, near the Octagon and a number of small bars.

Room Tip: My room had no view (looked into a yard). Room with a view would be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and your postive comments regarding the hotels breakfast, location and the buildings character and atmoshere. I'm pleased you had a comfortable stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a comfortable stay at the Southern Cross. Was it a luxury hotel? No. Was it the best hotel I've ever stayed in? No. But, it was fine for a three night stay in Dunedin. The staff was nice, and the restaurants were good, but not a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to add a review, we're happy you had a comfortable stay for the 3 nights you were here and had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant.

Kind Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed recently on business and very pleased with the experience. Checkin very friendly, all staff very polite and helpful. Well appointed rooms and bathrooms. The bed....well I couldn't stop talking about it and neither could my colleagues about theirs! Soooo soft and cosy! Just perfect after a cold winter's day. Breakfast was extremely tasty with a good selection of hot and cold items. Easy parking at the back of the property. I really was extremely pleased with everything about the stay - I think that I was expecting to be underwhelmed in Dunedin and couldn't have been more wrong. Location was not 100% central but then everything is so close in Dundedin and I was in the Octagon after a few minutes brisk walk. Definitely will be back and recommend for business and leisure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for all of the lovely comments you had to make about the hotel and your stay. We really value you taking the time to enter a review. And yes we have had so much great feedback about our bedding system which is just fabulous to hear. Great to know you will be back and would reccommend us to your friends and colleagues. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for a conference. Was very convenient for me to stroll the city centre. Beds comfortable, clean rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly. Stink view from our room - but can't have it all!!! Thanks for having us :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your complimentary comments regarding the hotels convenient location, cleanliness of the rooms and friendly staff, we appreciate your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future where we would be happy to make sure you received a room with a view.

Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Address: 118 High Street | corner Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.