We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality without the price tag.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge to your Saves list
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Rangiora
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quality without the price tag.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As the eldest has been studying in Dunedin a few years now we have stayed at several hotels. This has become the firm favourite. Free on site parking and only two stories high. I'm not sure how old it is but there are not really any new hotels in Dunedin anyway! It has been refurbished well with totally new bathrooms and double glazing. It is opposite the botanic gardens, there is some traffic noise and a long walk to town as a down side. The staff have been really helpful every time. Comfy bed and pillows, complimentary plunger coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    204
    88
    17
    10
See reviews for
94
173
40
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed there again as it was a great price for our family. No frills, the interior of the rooms is just starting to become a bit dated but it was still comfortable and clean so no complaints there. The location is good as it's just a couple minutes walk from "fatty lane" which is a street with all the major takeaway eateries. Car parking was a bit of a let down as we stayed on one side of the property and the only empty parks were on the other side of the complex but if you get there early enough there should be no problem. Value for money wise though it's a no brainer and we are staying there again next week!

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the building are quieter as they are further from the main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were going on train next day to Middlemarch, so lovely clean & peaceful place to stay, great sleep, no traffic noise. Loved the little express breakfast available in mornings. Great outlook on to lawn & gardens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked this through Accor and it was the cheaper of the 2 x hotels. I was very impressed in that the room was far better than I expected and really good value for money. (also comparable to a decent motel) The only 2 x things holding it back from being perfect were that I had to carry my bags up some stairs and along some long coridoors which wasn't a major for me but if I was an older person I should ask for a room on the ground floor. It was also quite wet outside and I had to park a bit far away from the man entrance as there isn't a covered unloading area. Apart from that I plan to stay there regularly from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed as part of a tour group. Rooms clean and comfortable. Food tasty and varied. Very handy for the Botanic Garden which we didn't have time to explore completely. We walked to and from city centre, level going but quite a long way. Surrounded by University accommodation but no problems. WiFi only in lobby area and definitely pedestrian!

Room Tip: Over looking the garden seems best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. We had breakfast the first day, but the selection was ordinary and the service was average. So we didn't return the next day.
The corridor was quite noisy, and we could hear the adjacent rooms at times.
The location was good for us, it was easy to get to, but really, its a fairly standard property. No real problems - room was clean, reception staff were nice.
Having said that, the room rates reflect what is being offered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found it fantastic. Gemma was on reception and she was very helpful and accommodating. The location was great for us as we were attending a concert.

The room was modern and comfortable. We were able to have a late check out and they serviced our room at a time convenient to us.

I would defiantly return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.