We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not have booked this place for myself or anyone i knew” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Manor House Backpackers to your Saves list
Manor House Backpackers
28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free taxi ride
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Christchurch
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would not have booked this place for myself or anyone i knew”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Dunedin is not my favorite place at the best of times. Its very grey, cold and rains a lot and during this bad weather there is not much to do so coming to a backpackers that is a good twenty minutes out of the city and on a steep hill and even steeper driveway, i was not impressed with this backpackers at all. As a seasoned traveller I have stayed at many backpackers and this was by far the worst one i have stayed at. I understand that dunedin may not offer top quality accommodation on the same level as a large city like auckland, london or sydney but still, the room was old, the beds creaked and the mattresses were so thin everyone complained of back ache in the morning. There was one bathroom for three ten bedroom dormitories downstairs and one bathroom upstairs which was not clean, had a faulty lock on it and as you could imagine had a queue. There was no lock on the rooms during the day which was terrible and intrusive. The majority of backpackers have swipe cards or at the very least a private door key but this dorm which contained ten of us (it was a group booking made by a mutual friend) had no lock except a code which was not activated until after 8pm at night. The kitchen was small and dirty and not even a tad big enough for all the people that were staying at the time. There was no free tea or coffee and I did not see the managers except to ask about a pay phone and I was pretty much barked at. There was no sense of homely atmosphere and customer service did not exist.
For twenty dollars a night however, i guess one cannot be picky. I tend to pay a little extra and stay in a more comfortable secure backpackers but i did not book this one as the person who did was a cheap skate who wanted to forgo general necessities for cost.
cutting.
Bad location, bad kitchen and bathroom, bad service and extremely dusty and unsafe when it rained as one could slip on steep driveway, forget baldwin street!! Walk up this driveway in the rain if you want to be pushed beyond your limits
DO NOT STAY

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    10
    5
    9
See reviews for
3
12
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The rooms were spacious and warm and the staff were frinedly, I just felt it could do with a facelift but could still keep its character. The kitchen was a bit cramped and not everythin seemed to be working.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

I camped here for twice because this is the only hostel in city providing tent site. They have two old houses but still good and beautiful. Facilities are above average, just its location is a bit far from city, it takes about 15mins to walk. The dinning area in the back house is smaller than the front house, they only have one table near the kitchen in the back house.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

I stayed three nights in this hostel. The house itself is rather nice and old, unfortunately the insides are a bit old too - the kitchen and living room area could do with a bit of a shakeup. It's clean enough though, and has that comfy feeling of home.

The staff are very friendly and will help with anything you're wanting to do. As someone else said, the rooms have no keys which is a little bit annoying but it's not the most crowded hostel around so that's ok. The internet is really, really slow!

What I liked though is that it was fairly quiet, something I had been looking for in my choice of hostel, because I wanted to avoid a crowded dorm full of snorers and a living room/kitchen taken over by a backpacker bus' content! And quiet it was, I had the dorm to myself in fact, and plenty of space to cook and hang out, as did the other few guests!

In short, a comfy, quiet stay, relatively close to the center still (5-10 min walk), but perhaps not recommended if you like your facilities sparkling new!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

We spent a few days exploring all that Dunedin has to offer, and one of our nights sleep was in the Manor house Backpackers! This old house is not too far from the main Octagon area of the town, which is where all the pubs, shops and entertainment are.

Kitchen is a little dated, dorms dont have key access,and the house cat may pay you a visit if you leave your window open overnight, but apart from that, the staff were friendly, and we had a good night's sleep.

Note: they do not provide sheets on the beds. Hire costs $2 per person.

Value for money= 7/10
Would I stay again?= Probably wouldnt be first choice, but I would stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Non locking doors, Old House
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Backpackers

Address: 28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is under NEW MANAGEMENT. BIG changes have been made. New pillows, duvets and heaters in all the rooms and dorms. Book through our website to get all the special offers. WHAT WE PROVIDE TO ALL OUR GUESTS: FREE WIFI - UNLIMITED FREE computer available 24/7 FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking FREE herbs from the herb garden FREE use of the BBQ FREE DVDs to watch, over 100 to choose from FREE hair dryers and hair straighteners to borrow FREE alarm clocks to borrow for those early starts FREE phone for local Dunedin calls and national 0800 numbers FREE off-street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) FREE ear plugs! FREE salt and pepper and anything else you can find on the kitchen shelves FREE sewing kit to use FREE storage FREE eco boutique (free second hand clothes and items) We are one of the only hostels that has free parking on the road and at the hostel, our driveway is a bit like climbing Mt Everest so be careful when driving up. Once you're up hand break on and enjoy the sights! We are just around the corner from the Naked bus depot and only 5 minutes from the Purple Rain cafe that we highly recommend checking out, or a short 10 minute walk into town. Our staff are working extremely hard to make your stay as comfortable and fulfilling while staying in Dunedin. We are here to help you plan your activities and tours, or just relax. The staff have all traveled and understand the needs of a traveler. We have bikes available to hire daily and you can book tours with us. LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING YOU SOON. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Manor House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.