We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special treat for a Dunedin stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Larnach Castle Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Larnach Castle Lodge to your Saves list
Larnach Castle Lodge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   145 Camp Road, Otago Peninsula | PO Box 1350, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Special treat for a Dunedin stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Larnach Castle is a must-visit - the only castle in NZ and a magnificent folly. You can stay in the grounds (3 different types of accomm) but not in castle itself. We stayed in the lodge - lovely rooms with splendid ocean views. Wandering round the beautiful gardens is very relaxing.
The table d'hôte dining was good - staff could help more with introductions and ice breaking with fellow diners - but food was very good. A charming experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Public Relations Manager at Larnach Castle Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Janekiwi,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable time with us.
Thanks for your feedback on your Dinner experience, it is important for us to hear this so that we can improve our product for next time.

Natalie Bisset
Marketing Support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    80
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
59
173
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in the Lodge and had breakfasts in the Stables. Both in the grounds of the castle. The castle, from the top of the tower has great views all round. The lodge, with a balcony, has that extra space to stand and enjoy the views. Our bed was a bit soft but we managed.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the Dinner Party at least once as you have your meal in the castle and meet inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, AL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We knew that Larnach Castle was the only castle in New Zealand, so it was a must for us to see while we were there! We decided we would stay at the Larnach Castle Lodge to experience it all up close...and we were not disappointed!! Check-in was easy, and the Graham was helpful and enthusiastic. We stayed in the Scottish Room. It was furnished nicely and was very clean. The room had a small outside balcony that had a SPECTACULAR view!! We had free access to the castle and the castle grounds, so we took our time exploring! A must see is the amazing view from the top of the castle (climbing the narrow staircase is worth it)! We ended our day by eating dinner IN the castle!! It was such a treat (the food was yummy too)!!, At the end of our meal, our hostess presented us with some historical facts concerning the castle and the Larnach family (very interesting). We ended our stay with breakfast in the old castle stable. Packing up was hard...we drove as slow as possible off the castle grounds because we didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is certainly worth of visit. Hotel is a real Castle surrounded with beatiful garden and view from the high hill to surrounding see. Rooms were all different, we had White Room, which was more than romantic. The dinner was like dinners in Downton Abbey, 16 people from various parts of the world and very good food. Road to the hotel was not too easy, but driveable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This Castle is truly a Castle, the accomodation and food cannot be believed for the price . Step into another world . The Lodge Theme Rooms were great fun, we had the Queen Vic one and enjoyed the experience of a four poster bed and the view from the window out of this world.Plus every modern convenience including a corner bath and top notch toileties. The unique dining experience of dining in the Castle inself and of sharing a large table banquet style with other guests, including a talk from one of the waitresses on the history of the Castle really broke the ice . The gardens are included in your cost and a very reasonable breakfast with choice of cooked disahes all included, Give me this over the usual motel any day.

Room Tip: Look at the options to see what suits your pocket, i.e. shared facilities in the Stable or like us b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Public Relations Manager at Larnach Castle Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Marie J,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Natalie Bisset
Marketing Support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for something different, then look no further. Stayed at Larnach Castle on the last stop of our New Zealand adventure.Graham greeted us at the desk and made us feel very relaxed and welcome. We stayed in The Lodge in the Queen Victoria suite. The 4 poster bed was fun but it made the room a bit dark. Lovely views across the bay and wonderful birdsong . Have the optional evening meal one night. You sit at one big table with fellow guests in the castle and chat whilst being served an excellent 3 course meal. Afterwards the Maitre d told us the story of the family who originally owned Larnach Castle. It IS only a story, BUT I was a bit twitchy walking back to our room !
Staying at Larnach Castle is something different and although a bit pricey, worth it. Without sounding like a misery I feel it's more for grown ups....so maybe no under 12's ? The walls are a bit thin and no-one wants to listen to a crying or naughty child.
Overall we had 2 lovely nights here. You MUST go to the Otago Peninsula to see the Albatross and the little Blue Penguins coming ashore at night it's only 20minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Rooms were so comfortable, all the amenities an a beautiful view. The gardens are magnificent and the castle is well worth your exploring. Have dinner there it is very well done and the food was delicious. After dinner you get to have story time and they tell you all about the castle quite fascinating. This is a place you will really enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Public Relations Manager at Larnach Castle Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Linda S,

Thank you for this review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Natalie Bisset
Marketing Support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Larnach Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larnach Castle Lodge

Address: 145 Camp Road, Otago Peninsula | PO Box 1350, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Larnach Castle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larnach Lodge Is a unique recreation of a colonial farm building set in 35 acres of award winning Castle Garden. Rooms are individually decorated in a colonial style and all have private facilities. Every room has a dramatic sea view. Lodge guests are invited to dine in a Castle dining room. Bookings must be made by 5pm. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is served in the historic Stables. Complementary entry to Larnach Castle is also part of the package. Larnach Lodge is a 20 minute drive from the City of Dunedin and 20 minutes from the famous wildlife attractions on the Otago Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Larnach Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnach Castle Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larnach Castle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.