We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chatty Owner.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Lodge to your Saves list
Fletcher Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   276 High Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Chatty Owner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Fletcher Lodge is a high quality B & B close to the centre of Dunedin. I get the impression that the area is not as upscale as it once was but that didn't cause us any concern or problems.
We stayed in one of the 2 bedroomed apartments away from the main house. This was great for us travelling as a family as it gave us more room to spread out.
Breakfast is served in the main house and consisted of fruit, cereals and croissants followed by your choice of cooked eggs and bacon.
The Lodge is run by Ewa & Keith and best avoided if you are the shy retiring type. Ewa can and will tell you everything about.....well everything. For me this was a plus. Ewa is an interesting lady and will go out of her way to help you enjoy your stay in and around Dunedin.
We did take a tour of the rest of the house and if you were to stay in the Lodge itself I don't think you could be upset at any of the rooms. Ewa and Keith have put a lot of time and commitment into the place.
This is no anonymous hotel. By staying here you are entering the lives of the owners and they are entering into yours.

Room Tip: If travelling as a family or group then chose the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A hidden gem in Dunedin, Fletcher Lodge is out of the main city centre but still only a short walk to the octagon (city centre). The house is immaculate, filled with victoriana and each room is unique with its own identity. The bedrooms are huge with everything you can want, and if you miss anything there is a small tea area filled with every tea flavour you can imagine (and biscuits) available when you want.
Breakfast is a communal experience and is good to chat to the other guests and find out what you might have missed in the area, if you struggle Ewa is always ready with suggestions. Definitely somewhere we will return to if we are ever in Dunedin again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having just cycled the Otago Central Rail Trail from Clyde to Middlemarch over 6 days and experienced a ride on the Taieri Gorge Railway, one of the World’s Great Train Journeys, we arrived in Dunedin pretty tired. What a joy to be welcomed so warmly at the Fletcher Lodge by Ewa and Keith who left no stone unturned to make sure we could rest our weary limbs in pure luxury. Our rooms were cosily warm, the furnishing a delight and the shower sheer bliss! Fletcher Lodge is a charming period house with views over the city and very conveniently close to the centre and good restaurants. Thank you Ewa and Keith for your generous hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was one of the best lodges we stayed in in New Zealand. It was like a stately home which indeed it was when it was first built. All the rooms were beautifully furnished and our bedroom was large and well equipped.
We. stayed over Easter and on Easter Sunday the breakfast table was specially laid with each place having a chocolate Easter egg.
The main special feature of this place was Ewa a Polish lady who, with her husband Keith (who kept to the background) was the owner and hostess. She was very friendly and knew everything. She was happy to discuss all arrangements and was willing to book or change restaurants or excursions. She was one of the best of this wonderful breed of New Zealand hosts and hostesses.
There remain a couple of small niggles. There is a charge for use of the washing machine. This may be reasonable but at most places we stayed this was free. The other problem was the bathroom. This was luxurious and had two basins ( I have never understood the advantage of this) but the price was the lack of space needing the shower to be put in the bath tub. It was cramped and hard to use and made worse by the lack of any shelves with nowhere to put the shower soap and the shampoo
However in spite of these I recommend Fletchers Lodge as a great place to stay in New Zealand. It was quite sad leaving after two days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Fletcher Lodge, owned by Ewa and Keith, is a treasure trove of lovely Victoriana, the coloured windows glass, with the original window furniture are just lovely. Ewa's garden a joy to behold, I found it most interesting to compare the variety of flowers,with the garden at home in UK.
Breakfasts were friendly, with a great choice, and Ewa so very helpful in booking restautants etc, for dinner.

Room Tip: Just enjoy a wonderful stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Like going back to the Victorian era. The Lodge has been beautifully maintained. We stayed in the wonderful Edinburgh Suite. Keith and Ewa were very friendly and helpful hosts. We appreciated advice on sightseeing and restaurants. Breakfast was
excellent. Would definitely stay there again if we return to Dunedin.

Room Tip: The Edinburgh Suite is large and has a nice bathroom with stained glass window and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This B&B spreads over an original Victorian House, another house next door, and some apartments above, up the hillside. The owner-operators, Ewa and Keith, are among the nicest people you could meet, and they will do anything to make you welcome. The rooms varied a lot among our group, some in one part, others elsewhere in the complex. While nicely appointed and maintained, the Lodge is a jumbled complex and is now in a dubious neighbourhood, with trashy backpackers' and student accommodation across the street. The breakfasts were inconsistent, with some guests complaining of slow service or cold coffee or tea almost every day. The hosts are trying hard to do everything themselves, but slip a little at times. Wonderful people, but the operation, especially the breakfast, needs sharpening up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Lodge

Address: 276 High Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fletcher Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the Dunedin City centre, Fletcher Lodges complex offers luxury accommodation in an atmosphere of restrained elegance while providing the ultimate in contemporary comfort and modern facilities.Nestled in a secluded, established gardens the lodge complex is conveniently located within minutes of many of the citys finest and most popular cafes and restaurants.A Lodge stay offers the charm and personal attention of a bed and breakfast whilst extending the amenities associated with full service HotelsBuilt by Sir James Fletcher in 1924 to serve as his private residence whilst he oversaw the construction of the New Zealand and South Seas Exhibition complex, the main historic property offers a rare glimpse of New Zealands Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fletcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.