We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Lodge to your Saves list
Fletcher Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   276 High Street, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Luxurious stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a house.. An old mansion built by an English man and currently run by a Polish couple is a place to check in if one is looking for a luxurious stay. The entire house is very tastefully done. Beautiful garden around and some good sit outs makes it better. The hosts were really warm and helpful. The breakfast was English and made to order. The overall stay was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Eva and Keith have managed to create a 5 Star B & B experience in a wonderful, quaint city that has really no other 5 Star options for accommodation. Beautiful rooms with lots of amenities; delicious breakfasts with more options than you can imagine; intriguing, knowledgable hosts who do all possible to make you feel welcome and spoiled. Best B&B experience ever!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This should be rated 5 stars because there is nothing lacking.....superb hospitality, great rooms, marvelous breakfasts and great hosts in Ewa and Keith. Everything about the place, including the small touches all around the rooms oozes with charm. We loved it and are glad we opted for this rather than a hotel. The bus stops right across the street coming up from town. Walking down is a "piece of cake".

Room Tip: The Cargill Suite is out of this world. The internet is "free". Whoopee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We just left Fletcher Lodge, hosted by Ewa and Keith. Our room was spotless and well appointed. Breakfast was fresh and satisfying, as was the three-course dinner the couple made for us. We loved our romantic, delicious meal by the fireplace. Best of all, Ewa and Keith are as charming as could be.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Ewa's hospitality really makes this place special. She took particular care to help us with dinner choices, made reservations for us, provided maps for us to use, and helped us plan our days in Dunedin. Her husband was also an excellent host as well as a great breakfast cook! The Lodge is a historic site and only a few minutes walk downhill to town.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have far better views and bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had to go to Dunedin at short notice last week. I booked Fletcher Lodge through Bookit partly because there were very few options available to me as the city was busy with students and their families returning to University, people attending a convention and an annual bagpipe event.

Everything about Fletcher Lodge is excellent. We were greeted on arrival and shown around. Our room, bed and other facilities available were fabulous and included a heated floor in the bathroom for one very cold Aucklander (me). We are not early risers and mentioned we didn't need breakfast but Ewa made sure there was a lovely fruit selection available for us plus croissants and toppings and a selection of beverages. Fletcher the young schnauzer is very friendly if you like dogs but well under the owners control in case you don't.

The house is a heritage house and Ewa knows the history and is able to discuss it and the building.

I highly recommend staying here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Ewa was a great hostess during our stay in Dunedin. She was quite motherly as she guided us through the last two days of our trip to New Zealand. She was great at listening to what we were looking for during our limited time there. So much so that we are looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Lodge

Address: 276 High Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fletcher Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the Dunedin City centre, Fletcher Lodges complex offers luxury accommodation in an atmosphere of restrained elegance while providing the ultimate in contemporary comfort and modern facilities.Nestled in a secluded, established gardens the lodge complex is conveniently located within minutes of many of the citys finest and most popular cafes and restaurants.A Lodge stay offers the charm and personal attention of a bed and breakfast whilst extending the amenities associated with full service HotelsBuilt by Sir James Fletcher in 1924 to serve as his private residence whilst he oversaw the construction of the New Zealand and South Seas Exhibition complex, the main historic property offers a rare glimpse of New Zealands Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fletcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.