We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Dunedin, walking distance to town, stadium,restaurants etc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunedin & Academy Court Motels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dunedin & Academy Court Motels to your Saves list
Dunedin & Academy Court Motels
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   624 George St, Dunedin 9021, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
gore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to stay in Dunedin, walking distance to town, stadium,restaurants etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Ideal location for a group or family, affordable, clean and tidy and helpful staff.
Was here for the recent All Black test and right amongst the action.Dunedin is a great place to host a test, we just need some more!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were going to stay a number of nights in Dunedin, but what a big let down. The room we were in was very dark and we needed the light on during the day. Awesome location though, you can leave the car and walk everywhere. There was a hair in the dish washing sponge, which really put me off. Quite expensive for what you get. Will go elsewhere next time I'm there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Friendly host. Lovely and clean. Near enough to city centre to leave car and walk to shops/restaurants/attractions but far enough away not to be noisy. Very large accommodation for the price and supplied everything you could possibly need if you were a family staying here (we were a couple). Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as there was a lot we wanted to do in Dunedin. There is lots to see such as the butterflies at the Museum, Cadbury's factory tour and Speights Brewery tour.

Once again we were not disappointed with our accommodation. A large upstairs room with a separate lounge and bedroom. Large comfortable bed.

Situated close to city and within walking distance of Railway station. Restaurants also close by.

Really can't stress enough how we enjoy staying in ASURE motels and this one is no exception.

When we were staying in Queenstown,(will review them later), I received a phone call from ASURE Dunedin and Academy advising that we had left our camera charger in our room. They forwarded it to us in Queenstown at no charge to us.

Excellent service and recommend to travellers. We also used our first $100 of a night's stay here.

ASURE have a loyalty program where you stay 9 nights at 3 a minimum of 3 different locations and you receive $100 of your 10th night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which although not overly modern was clean and comfortable. The motel is quiet considering it runs between two busy roads. The staff at the office are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at this complex many times mainly just for 1 or 2 nights passing through Dunedin or just for a weekend. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and fine for a short term stay. In need of a wee makeover but very close to the CBD and restaurants and shops less than 15 mins walk so a big plus. Plenty of parking spaces. Suits us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Ok for a night. Studio room clean and all facilities there to use. All clean. Have used the larger units in past or larger family and write ok. Great to have 3 bedroom units available. Paper late delivery. Room cosy and warm. Convenient to CBD. Given complimentary wifi. Good speed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunedin & Academy Court Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin & Academy Court Motels

Address: 624 George St, Dunedin 9021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunedin & Academy Court Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunedin & Academy Court Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunedin & Academy Court Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.