We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Booked an excellent value for money special which included room and great breakfast. Handy to the city area and quiet location. Good room with balcony and view over part of the city.
Staff were friendly and helpful, Dining room was modern with a lovely carved wall mural at one end.
Tv reception not good but otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    115
    70
    19
    7
See reviews for
56
83
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We chose this hotel for its location (v. central) and it was offering cheap rates. For the purpose of a brief one-night stay it was okay but I probably wouldn't stay there again.

Why?

1. Very dated and tired furnishings. Table in our room had veneer peeling off.
2. Those ceilings!! What is with that - didn't like those at all and their potential for harbouring all sorts of nasties (including, we observed, much dust and grime).
3. Old bathrooms, not totally clean. Black mold along sides of bath. Insufficient heating in bathroom (particularly for Dunedin!).

Generally the place is just tired and needs some TLC and some brighter furnishings and decor to bring it out of the 1970s.

We didn't try the food because the restaurant didn't look particularly welcoming, more like a working man's club.

The car park is small and on a very steep slope. It was icy when were there and it was treacherous. For anyone not stable on their feet visiting in cold weather, please bear this in mind.

Such a shame this hotel didn't live up to expectations because the location was great. We paid NZ$90 for a night, great for the central location but not for the facilities. I'll pay the extra for decent decor next time. We had a room in a venue not far from this hotel a year before for NZ$120 and it was in a different league.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here for five nights, this hotel was recommended as being close to the conference my husband attended. Good things: fairly quiet for a central location, queen bed was comfortable, service was helpful and friendly. However, the seals around the bath were moldy and the sofa bed provided for our five year old was incredibly uncomfortable - an adult would not sleep well on the thin matress. The shower is poorly designed so that it leaks onto the floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

No hassles at all- booked online and got what was advertised. Hotel is older but spotless,comfortable and quiet. Staff are great- were available if required but privacy was guaranteed if you need it. I will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Travelled here for business once. Old hotel, quite musty with limited facilities. Internet was very poor. Meals were good. Hotel provided me with gym card to a local gym which was a 10 min walk up hill. The only thing I remember is that it has the worst parking in the world. There are limited spaces because it's on a hill and the spaces it has were quite tight. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stay in a number of hotels and one thing that has struck me about this trip is the large costs for Internet access in hotel rooms and this was easily the most expensive of the lot at a shade under NZD$30 per night with a measely 300MB usage allowance. Yes, that's MB and not GB. I do >300MB on my smartphone most days! The hard stop (after a slowdown) at 1000MB (so not even 1GB = 1024MB) was also mad and the online screen that went with it comical.

Apart from the odd Internet service (online should be free in all hotels around the world) the room was functional and clean, the location is good and the staff friendly although the facilities all closing early was a bit of an irritant as I had to go back out to get a drink post 9pm on the Sunday night. Dunedin is a top town and always worth a visit, definitely check it out - but the hotel could be better value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Good service, pleasant surroundings, good food, handy to the City. It's a shame I don't travel to Dunedin more often.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.