We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't go hungry here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Dog Cafe & Restaurant

Black Dog Cafe & Restaurant
109 Princes Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
(03) 471 8180
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 214 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You won't go hungry here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

No need for an entree. The mains are huge. Great "man" feed. good value for money. Uni student value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a great place to go when in town. The food is great and very reasonably priced and there are leather couches to sit if you wish to relax. Their muffins are enormous and very tasty! Their fish is cooked to perfection. Also great seafood chowder.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Excellent Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This cafe has huge servings for excellent value! We only paid between $10 and 15 for our main meals and we didn't finish them, they were absolutely massive! The beef burger is just superb, the pattie is so tasty!

I would highly recommend this laid back cafe for a drink or two and a meal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best steak in NZ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I had been feeling a little under the weather for a week or so including the trip to NZ from the UK via a 24 hour stop in Hong Kong in the monsoon.
We were in Dunedin and I was feeling really run down as I hadn't eaten in 4 or 5 days and we happened on The Black Dog. Thank goodness!
The staff & food were magnificent!
The location was a little unusual as was the decor but we weren't there to make comments on those things, we were there to eat and we ate very well and fairly cheaply.
Thanks to the Black Dog I felt almost 100% the next morning and continued on our 3 week tour of the South Island of NZ!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“3 words...buy the fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

You may need an afternoon nap afterwards but their pan-fried fish for lunch will fill the spot & more. It is brilliant value & always satisfies. If there was a downside to Black Dog it is the lack of heating. We would stick around longer if it was warmer.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Black Dog Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Dog Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.