We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASANT OLDER BUILDING W/MUM & DAD SERVICE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Mansions Apartments at St Clair, Dunedin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Mansions Apartments at St Clair, Dunedin to your Saves list
Majestic Mansions Apartments at St Clair, Dunedin
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   15 Bedford St | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“PLEASANT OLDER BUILDING W/MUM & DAD SERVICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Owner operators are very attentive to your needs. Gratefully helped us with our luggage to our room (there are no lifts but enough stairs to make it a little difficult when young kids around. Though not right in the city, it backs onto the beach. The unit above had someone awake till after midnight and up around 6 - we would hear them walking around the unit. The units are a good size and well self contained. Would recommend if the price is right, maybe a bit expensive relative to other places with same facilities but better locations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
10
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

St Clair apartments was like a trip back 50 years - such elegant accommodation. All modern whiteware, beautiful furnishings throughout. Spacious. Well equipped kitchen. Gavin a very pleasant and helpful host. I would be very keen to return one day. Very well priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTORUA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a ground floor 1 bedroom apartment. Loved the character of the old building, and the tasteful renovations. Being a ground floor apartment we had a large sunny courtyard off french doors from the master bedroom rather than seaviews. The soft furnishings are tasteful and I loved the high stud ceilings. Felt spacious even though the lounge/living , self contained kitchen and bathroom are compact rooms with a large master bedroom. Super comfy beds. We needed an additional bed in the living room for our daughter and she appreciated a single bed rather than a fold away trundler bed. Can hear the surf at night which is nice. Quiet overnight although in the morning we could here noise from the guests in the apartment above including the water from the shower. The bathroom has a wet shower in the middle of the room, this was not a problem as the squeegy provided resolved the wet floor quickly. Very effiicient gas heating in the living and an oil filled column heater in the master bedroom to keep the apartment cosy. Off street free parking is available. Friendly welcoming hosts. Felt like a home away from home. Great location, a short stroll to St Clair beach, some great cafes and a short drive to Dunedin city. So glad we chose to stay at Majestic Apartments St Clair.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent two nights in a one bedroom seaview apartment and were most happy with our choice. The block has been tastefully restored and our apartment was both well-appointed and comfortable. We had seaviews out of every window and went to sleep hearing the pounding surf. The apartment was warm and had a good range of kitchen utensils. We were a little concerned with the unusual shower set up but it worked out fine. Undercover parking, although tight, was a bonus. It was nice to stroll along the beach. The block, although fully booked, was quiet. A great find and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a little extra but you are at the beach so enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I recently had 3 nights here with friends, as part of a small group tour to Otago. I had not checked out the accommodation beforehand so was blown away by my apartment . It was so large and everything was perfect. I had a top floor room and could have stayed in all day watching the beach and the surfers , from the windows.
Wendy and Gavin were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble, including lugging my bag up all those stairs. There are great cafes and restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to prepare meals in the fully equipped kitchen.
Now --all I need is an excuse to return!!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

What an absolute gem! Gavin & Wendy are wonderful hosts, very willing to help make things as comfortable as possible.
The apartment was very well equipped & had a great "feel" ..
The stairs were the only glitch but not major .. the exercise was much needed!
An excellent "find" & I will most definately be back!
A big thank you to Gavin & Wendy for their great service. Irene & Jess :))

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanaka
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

we will certainly be returning here when we need to stay in Dunedin again, everything was a wonderful experience , from being met by warm friendly host to the building being beautifully restored for a majestic old building . the size of our apartment and it was an apartment not a motel sized room
location just a stroll to St Clair beach and a couple of restaurant cafes and evening dinning bars.
highly recommend especially if wanting to meet typical NZ hosts .
thanks so much we had a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Mansions Apartments at St Clair, Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Mansions Apartments at St Clair, Dunedin

Address: 15 Bedford St | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majestic Mansions Apartments at St Clair, Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Majestic Mansions Apartments at St Clair, Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Mansions Apartments at St Clair, Dunedin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.